Galaxy Tab 2 and Android 4.1

Discussion in 'Android' started by SpaceJump, Feb 15, 2013.

Feb 15, 2013
  1. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    I have a Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 (GT-P3110) here with Android 4.04. Now I keep reading that Samsung released 4.1.1 for it, but when I go to software update on the tab, I get the message that I have the latest firmware. The same happens using Samsung Kies. What's the deal?

    Then I googled I found this: http://www.tips4tab.com/how-to-upda...-to-buclk1-android-4-1-1-jelly-bean-official/

    Is this safe to use? Why doesn't my tab find a new firmware by itself?
     
  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,803
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    That tutorial looks terrible. Grammar and spelling errors everywhere. Honestly, it'd probably be easier to just root and install a custom 4.1.1 ROM.
     
  3. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    I see. But how come I read so much about official 4.1.1 and my Tab doesn't find it?

    And besides the grammar, would that work?
     
  4. IBNobody

    Member IBNobody I try to keep myself amused.

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Texas, Hang 'Em High
    Country:
    United States
    It should work. It's just ODIN. Be aware that P3113UECLI4 is the latest firmware.
     
  5. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks. It worked :lol:
    Makes me wonder why this update isn't available on the official way...
     
  6. Rizsparky

    Member Rizsparky Saiyan Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,479
    Location:
    The Future
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The OTA firmware deployment is region based, thats probably why it didnt pick up the new firmware
     
  7. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Often the network carriers also slow down the FW deployment. They like to tweak updates with their crap before releasing it to customers.
     

Share This Page