OP
Trophies
Website
www.getexbackclub.com
XP
Country
United States
Hello,

I'm an utter newbie and just got a launch date Wii. I hear these are great for modding, and want to do so as soon as possible.

I've been reading a bit on this and other forums, and am starting to get the gist of the process. My (drive?) is estimated to be GC2R-D2A.

There are quite a few reccomendations out there for the "Free Clip" programmed with YAOSM. What I HAVEN'T found is an explanation on why it's the best, or what advantages it has over my other options.

I'm about to pull the trigger and order the stuff I need (screwdrivers, serial connector as my computer does not have one, free clip... is there anything else?), but I was hoping to get a ltitle bit more information from you guys... and help is appreciated.

If someone could answer the following questions for me, that would be SO GREAT...

- Are there any compatibility issues with the free clip?

- from looking around, ive heard murmurs of Wii updates causing problems with mod chips. So basically od i just avoid updating my wii? Is this a problem with the free clip in particular?

- What advantages does free clip have over my other options?

- I've seen random complaints of modded wiis no longer being able to play commercial games, only backups... is this a concern with Free clip? I'd very much like to keep the aibltiy to play my commerical games intact.

- Do i need a dual layered DVD burner to make backups?

- I assume that modding a wii allows it to play homebrew as well as backups?

- Is there any point to the twilight hack (homebrew channel) if i have a modded wii?

Thanks SOO much... i must admit, this is a little confusing, but im learning...

fly_us

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Centimetro said:
Hello,

I'm an utter newbie and just got a launch date Wii. I hear these are great for modding, and want to do so as soon as possible.