Format a corrupt Gamecube memory card?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Redkover, Apr 12, 2012.

Apr 12, 2012
  1. Redkover
    OP

    Newcomer Redkover Newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Don't ask me how, but I managed to corrupt my Gamecube memory card using GCMM. When I boot it up with the memory card plugged in, if I try to copy a save to it, it will say file/dir error. If I take it out and plug it back in, or boot it without it in and plug it in afterward, I can copy saves to and from it. However, if I copy Animal Crossing's save file, it will say that there's not enough space on the card. There was enough space before it corrupted, which leads me to believe that GCMM didn't delete a save file correctly. No matter, even when I manage to copy a save file onto the card, the corresponding game I play will give an error such as "The memory card in Slot A is corrupted." or "The memory card in Slot A must be formatted", so it doesn't really matter that I found a way to copy saves to and from.
    I thought no biggie, I'll just reformat it with the Wii system menu, but it seems that the Wii system menu has no such feature. Instead, it says "The device inserted in Slot A cannot be used." Darn. :/
    I understand that the Gamecube can format corrupted memory cards, but I don't own one and none of my friends do, either. One option is that I could probably send the memory card to my sister in Arizona who does have a Gamecube, but I want to do that as a last resort.
    Is there anything I can do with the Wii, such as a homebrew program, should I send it to my sister, or should I not even bother with it and buy another card online?
    Thanks!
     
  2. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    http://techforums.nintendo.com/thread/2570

    Try booting a gamecube game, and supposedly it should ask you to format the card once it tries to save. Hopefully you have or can get your hands on a GC game, or can burn one and have a DVD compatible drive.
     
  3. Redkover
    OP

    Newcomer Redkover Newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for the late reply!
    None of the games I own had the option to format corrupt cards but fortunately, I was able to get a hold of a Gamecube today and I was able to format the card using that. It's working again, I'm happy that I have a working card again. Thank you for your help and hopefully I don't mess it up again!
     
  4. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Woo!

    Steal the cube just in case XD

    Lol I don't suggest doing that, however, GameStop should still be selling them, and as long as they are, they're like $30. It might be a good thing to have on hand.
     

Share This Page