Fix for problems Dumping to HDD on Hardmods

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by noobwarrior7, Apr 13, 2009.

Apr 13, 2009
  1. noobwarrior7
    OP

    Member noobwarrior7 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,594
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Some usbloader users with chips get one of two errors when trying to dump a backup to HDD from Wii.

    the first error is error: ret -2 I believe, where it won't recognize the disc at all.
    the other is where it gets stuck at 00.00% or 00.01% and you have to do a hard reboot.

    the solution is pretty simple....temporarily disable some of the features of your chip.

    How? well I have the strategy I use for my chip, should work for most chips, helped me not get the error anymore.

    I do not know if all the steps are really that important, but you can fiddle with it.

    Pre-req's:
    Pre-loader installed
    HBC installed
    stuff necessary to run USBLoader 1.1+ (ie: cIOS, loader dol, USB drive, etc.) [duh!!]

    Okay, so the steps are:

    1) Remove any DVD discs from the Wii.

    2) Power Off to RED.

    3) Unplug power completely for about 30 seconds [*see note: you may need to wait longer]
    (During this time plug your HDD in if you haven't already)

    4) Press power a couple times to discharge any residual charge, probably not needed.

    [At this point, all functions of your chip, except for forcing "Wii Optical Disc" will likely be inactive until the chip can do a recovery mode detection of your region]

    5) Plug power back in.

    6) When Ready, press power and IMMEDIATELY press and hold RESET for like 3-4 seconds.

    7) As you boot into preloader, go to homebrew channel

    [At this point, you have seemingly bypassed the recovery mode detection of most chips, and you will simply be forcing DVD+R/-R to be seen as Wii Optical Disc]

    8) Go to your usb loader 1.1-1.4 or other, making SURE you HDD is plugged in, start the app.

    9) Press + to install, insert your backup, press A. Viola. Dump all of them now, before you insert your default region disc back at the true sysmenu.

    Went from problems with 40% of backups to problems with
     
  2. nash79

    Member nash79 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    gotta try this once at home, if it works ur my baby [​IMG]

    Update: It doesnt work with my D2CPRO modchip [​IMG]
     
  3. noobwarrior7
    OP

    Member noobwarrior7 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,594
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    hmmm....maybe the internal battery has to be dead?...sorry.
     
  4. kevin8622

    Newcomer kevin8622 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    France
    Didn't work on my Wii 3.2E+Argon 1.

    I'm still getting my previous error "WBFS Panic : Malloc fst" that happen on all my HD but only with my backups so I think it's due to my modchip
     
  5. HisshouBuraiKen

    Member HisshouBuraiKen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Nowhere
    Country:
    United States
    I have openwii and got a ret-2 once but i just tried again and it worked. Then i realized I should just use WBFS to rip my backup dvds directly to my HDD [​IMG]
     
  6. AdamBrunt

    Member AdamBrunt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    I'm sure I ready somewhere on here that to successfully dump some games onto HDD using USB Loader then if you have a modchip IF YOU CAN you need to disable it's update blocking facility. The USB Loader dump process has to be able to access the update partition of the DVD IIRC.
     
  7. supagusti

    Member supagusti GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    Austria
    I have a Wiikey 2 with the option you discribe (block updates from other regions) enabled.
    No problems so far... Have ripped about 40 games on my HDD with ultimatev7.4
     
  8. Fellipepb07

    Member Fellipepb07 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    And doesnt work on my d2ckey.
     
  9. nash79

    Member nash79 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    Doesnt work here niether. as u say, maybe its the battery (or maybe there's a wire on the chip that should be linked to the reset button that has not been soldered by my modder) just a guess
     
  10. doesenbrot

    Newcomer doesenbrot Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Austria
    I have also never have Problems like the threadstarter, using Wiikey1 with newest Update.
    But of cource the USB Loader reads not all disks which are running in Wii directly.
    So for me it seems to be a Problem with Quality of Disks.
    Maybe USB Loader uses another Reading-Speed then Wii directly.

    So far my Tests, USB Loader reads all my Disks from Verbatim, also DVDR+.
    Problems are there with Sony,Platinum,Maxwell.
    They run on Wii fine, but not always. Sometimes Ill get the Sounderror or Game tells, Disk is unreadable.
    I put DVD out and in again and it runs, but USB Loader cant read this Disks.
    So its my Problem at all, because I have some bad Disks(but of course I have all my ISOs [​IMG] )
     
  11. kevin8622

    Newcomer kevin8622 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    France
    For me, All my backups run fine on the Wii and when I say Always it's really always I never had ANY read problem with my Wii.


    But as I said previously USB Loader cannot read them (WBS Panic : Malloc fst)... And it's Work fine If I try to import an original game.
    (ftpii can read them without any problem)
     
  12. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Or you can just use a GUI with the DVD->WBFS function on your PC and forget about this kind of fix, and to drain the charge of "X" thing, you need to unplug, press power during 30 secs. and then plug them back (that's what Toshiba customers services told me)..!! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page