dstt loading problem :/

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by guestuk, Dec 7, 2008.

Dec 7, 2008

dstt loading problem :/ by guestuk at 6:10 PM (2,004 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. guestuk
    OP

    Newcomer guestuk Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    hey everyone (:
    i was wondering if anyone would help me out with a problem.
    once i was tring to put my nitendo ds on when the 'hapy face thingy' came up on the screen as normal but it went into the loading screen with the 9 blue dots in the corner.well from there nothing happened.i left it for quite some time but still the loading screen was still the same.
    i tried removing some unnessary files and now it just was 'menu?'
    iv tried formatiing to both FAT and FAT32.
    please could anyone help.
    btw i know my dstt big white thingy works as when i removed the microsd card from it and put it back in the ds it came up with the 'no card' image.
    thankyou ;D
    i really appricate it.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Format your microSD card using the Panasonic formatter. Always use "safely remove hardware" utility before removing your microSD card from your computer. Insert your newly formatted but otherwise empty microSD card into your DSTT, and turn on your DS. Do you get a "Menu?" icon?

    -Bri
     
  3. darkslime

    Newcomer darkslime Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I just got my dstt, and have the same problem.
    I tried the formatted sd card with nothing on it and menu? came up.
    What do I need to do?
     
  4. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    OK, if "Menu?" came up on a blank microSD card, it's working (so far). You need to install the firmware. Don't use the latest version of the firmware unless you know for a fact your flash cart isn't a fake. Instead grab version 1.15 from the download area: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=2872

    Unpack the archive and drag the "TTMENU.DAT" file and "TTMENU" folder (which will itself contain a bunch of files and folders) over to your microSD card.

    Create a folder named "games" on your microSD card. Put one or two .nds files in the "games" folder.

    Always use Windows "safely remove hardware" utility before you remove your microSD card from your PC!

    Put your microSD card into your DSTT which is in the DS. Turn it on. You should get a menu showing the games you put on there.

    -Bri
     
  5. guestuk
    OP

    Newcomer guestuk Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    yayy !
    (:
    thankyou very very much for your help.
    iv got it working again! ;D
    really appreciated all of your help.
    x
     
  6. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    You're welcome. Glad you got it working.

    -Bri
     
  7. monkey04

    Newcomer monkey04 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Canada
    How do I know if I killed it
     
  8. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    monkey04, I have no idea what you're asking. Care to clarify?

    -Bri
     
  9. monkey04

    Newcomer monkey04 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Canada
    How do I if I killed the Dstt with 1.16
     
  10. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    First, confirm that you have a fake. If so, you should return it regardless, and exchange it for a real one.

    But to confirm if it's really dead, you would want to eliminate possible problems with the microSD card, microSD reader, or firmware installation.

    First, turn on your NDS without any microSD card in the DSTT. You should get a "No Card" icon. If you don't get a "No Card" icon, your DSTT is dead.

    Next, reformat your microSD card using the Panasonic formatter. Make sure you ALWAYS use the "safely remove hardware" utility before removing your microSD from your PC. Insert the EMPTY newly formatted microSD card into your DSTT and turn on your NDS. You should get a "Menu?" icon.

    Next, add the firmware, create a "games" folder, and drop a couple of .nds files into the "games" folder. When you turn on your NDS, you should see the games in the menu.

    -Bri
     
  11. kingkong

    Banned kingkong Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    dont listen to bri he hasnt got a clue & stop with the bullshit about "windows safely remove hardware"-

    i just received 2 dstt from deal extreme... put latest firmware on 4gb sd, all games worked fine..... after about 2 hours of play i checked 10 or so games out , last was tony hawk... BANG... after that i wanted to load bomberman and it always hangs on the loading screen too!

    card wasnt in the computer it just happend within one session!

    put older firmware on nothing!

    then i put the sd in my 2nd dstt.... and the ds wouldnt even recognize it... tweaked around a bit and it recognizes the card, but same problem: hangs on loading screen!

    (on a sidenote a lot of ppl bitch about r4 iver never had one problem with it! on first day dstt many problems [​IMG]

    so anyone knows a real fix or knows what causes the loading problem?

    REPEAT: i put many games on the card, it worked fine in the ds but after a while the loading problem started so the DSTT caused it somehow (rom: tony hawk)!


    EDIT: 1:35 quick formatted sd (with http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/sd/d..._formatter.html but i doubt it matters), put on system again and roms and all works fine once again........

    EDIT2: 1:40 actually the problem is back 1 minute after it was fixed loaded animaniacs lights camera action and BANG... bug is back

    EDIT3: 1:45 works fine again after re-format (in dos this time) also the rom animaniacs.

    actually i am having the brilliant idea that i can put r4 AND dstt firmware on the sd so if dstt fucks up again i just use it in the r4^^
     
  12. Aleatz

    Newcomer Aleatz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    If that was joke it wasn't very funny.
     
  13. Mikef

    Newcomer Mikef Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    If you turn off write cache, than you don't need to do this.
    It's easy to change in XP.
     
  14. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Just...wow.

    -Bri
     
  15. wallstreet

    Banned wallstreet Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States

    LOL What a funny Story, thanks for posting this here!

    I got my DSTT working again too. Hope it lasts.

    I have 2 MP3 Players, 3 USB Sticks and 1 Digital Camera and I use a lot of these items every day on several computers and I´ve never in my life used "safely remove hardware" and have never in my life lost 1 bit.

    So stfu BRI.
     
  16. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Do me a favor, wallstreet and kingkong. Please PLEASE never use "safely remove hardware." PLEASE -- just for me!

    Everyone else, please use "safely remove hardware." You'll be much happier. Wallstreet and kingkong don't deserve to be happy.

    -Bri
     

Share This Page