DS CD-i Emulator

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by godzilla3456, Oct 17, 2009.

Oct 17, 2009

DS CD-i Emulator by godzilla3456 at 8:45 AM (3,113 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. godzilla3456
    OP

    Newcomer godzilla3456 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    Well I was wondering if anyone has/make a Philips CD-i Emulator for the DS?
    Kind of interested in those sad Zelda spin-offs lol
     
  2. hova1

    Member hova1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    690
    Country:
    Germany
    there's no way that this would ever happen.
     
  3. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    There is a PC emulator, with afaik no sources released. So it would require one to write a new one from scratch or hope to receive the sources. Don't see it happening soon but if someone feels like picking it up, you never know [​IMG]. It's not like the CD-i was very powerfull..
     
  4. Edgedancer

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    Just look for a PC emulator. Even if one was running on the DS, there would be issues.
     
  5. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    While that may be the case think about the medium it uses for a moment, hell its in the name! CDs hold 700mb of data and the DS only has 4mb of RAM, we would need some kind of streaming process which would make any emulation slow (look at SnEmul when it tries to play DK Country without a memory pack but times it by a lot more)

    Other Problem: The CDi has a 15mhz CPU, we have trouble emulating the 3mhz SNES processor and people have said that it would be impossible to emulate the SuperFX chip which is 10mhz
     
  6. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,460
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    [​IMG]

    You don't have to load the entire game into RAM at once. It's like saying the DS can't run DS games because it only has 4 MB of RAM while DS games are up to 256 MBs. The CD-i didn't load the entire CD into memory at once either. CD-i games have load times and load routines, and they can wait (without crashing) for the system to load the necessary data from the CD (and that can be used in emulation, because the game "knows" how to wait while the emulator does the loading). And dince it only had 1 MB of RAM, neither the total game size nor the RAM size aren't a problem.




    The CPU, on the other hand, might be.
     
  7. Jotokun

    Member Jotokun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, the CPU is possible to emulate on the DS. The CD-i uses a 68070 cpu, which is very similar to the 68000 used by the older macintosh computers. A port of minivmac exists for the DS, and while it is a bit slow, it does work.
     
  8. nasune

    Member nasune GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    Netherlands
    But even if it could would you really want to play those games? I own one of 'em (and a CD-I obviously) and sad doesn't even begin to describe it [​IMG]
     
  9. eSPy

    Member eSPy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    Canada
  10. player1244

    Newcomer player1244 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Netherlands
    But a Macintosh 128k (which MinivMacDS emulates) has a 8mhz processor, and it's not really slow in my opinion. I think the CD would be the hardest part to emulate.
     
  11. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The CD-i is one of the worst systems i've ever had the misfortune to play. The controls were terrible and the games were even worse.
     
  12. Vidboy10

    Member Vidboy10 Tsardom

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    Why in the fucking hell would you want to play one of the worst systems ever created on your DS?
     
  13. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    For the lulz?
     
  14. ndstuff

    Member ndstuff GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Poland
    HINT: Mah boi
     
  15. Edgedancer

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    What?
     
  16. adrian2040

    Member adrian2040 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    401
    Location:
    Lima
    Country:
    Peru
    Your majesty. Ganon and his minions have seized the island of Koridai!
     

Share This Page