Do I need CIOS10 to use loader 1.4?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mikesmithy, Apr 14, 2009.

Apr 14, 2009
  1. mikesmithy
    OP

    Newcomer mikesmithy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Canada
    Do I need CIOS10 to use loader 1.4? Every version of loaders that I try won't load any of the images anymore, but they would for me when it was only 1/1? Is this a common issue? Do I need the revised CIOS (10)?
     
  2. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you have CIOS rev9 you can use USB, but with rev10 you can use SD.
     
  3. shashilx

    Newcomer shashilx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Ukraine
    So I can put iso's on SD card and play games without USB HDD?
     
  4. Alexrose

    Member Alexrose Untitled

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ja ja, correct.
     
  5. snakesnoke

    Newcomer snakesnoke Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Similar question.

    When the USB-Loader was released first, I followed the following guide:

    First, what's required;
    -A Nintendo Wii
    -Newest Homebrew Channel installed
    -This file pack
    -The original IOS36-64-v1042.wad file (GOOGLE!)

    Prep:
    -Extract the usbloader.rar file into the root of your SD card.
    -Stick the IOS36-64-v1042.wad file into the root of the SD card.
    -Boot the Homebrew Channel, run the IOS installer
    -Select "WAD Install", it should install automatically
    -Reset Wii

    Running USB loader:
    -Insert a USB drive into the Wii
    -Boot the homebrew channel, select USB-LOADER


    I think I didn't install any custom IOS yet. I'm still using the first USB-Loader-Version to start from SD-Card via the Homebrew Channel.
     
  6. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
    you are using rev9 else you couldn't even load a game from usb hdd.

    you installed it with the following steps:

    -Stick the IOS36-64-v1042.wad file into the root of the SD card.
    -Boot the Homebrew Channel, run the IOS installer
    -Select "WAD Install", it should install automatically
     
  7. snakesnoke

    Newcomer snakesnoke Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you very much for the fast answer.

    To make it absolutely clear:
    Is "IOS36-64-v1042.wad" rev9?
    Can I install rev10 the same way with the Homebrew channel and over rev9?
    When I format my Wii in System Menu, will everything not original be removed?
     
  8. Takeshi

    Member Takeshi GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,946
    Country:
    Germany
    "IOS36-64-v1042.wad" is the original IOS, it's not a cIOS.
     
  9. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
    no, IOS36-64-v1042.wad is the original nintendo ios36. the installer takes it as a basis and patches it to become cios36 revXYZ temporarily. it doesn't make any changes to the original .wad-file. the installer you used modified it to be rev9. the new installer you can get modifies it to rev10. afterwards the installer installs this 'patched' ios as ios249. simply download the new installer and start it with homebrew channel and do the same you did the last time.
     
  10. snakesnoke

    Newcomer snakesnoke Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you very much! I'll take another look arround to find a simple channel version of the newest USB-Loader 1.4, so I don't even need to start it with the homebrew channel. Then I will only use the homebrew channel to update the custom IOS in the future.

    What about removing all changes to the wii with format in the system menu?
     
  11. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
    don't do that. uninstall wads with wadmanager and don't do anything else. if you're just updating cios you don't have to remove anything, because the older revision will be overwritten.
     
  12. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    Format does NOT truly format your wii... It only deletes non-essential titleIDs (basically just deletes your channels, saves, and resets settings to default). The wii will remain the same version, and if you had preloader installed on your system, there is a good chance it will brick.
     
  13. JonnyFirpo

    Newcomer JonnyFirpo Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Germany
    Relating to the first post I have a question. Do I need cios rev 10 to use usb loader 1.4 for loading via usb device too? Or is cios rev 10 only nessecary if I want to use loading via sd?

    Thanks
    JonnyFirpo
     
  14. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
    actually it's not necessary but recommended because it has plenty of fixes.
     
  15. snakesnoke

    Newcomer snakesnoke Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    I still have firmware 3.2e installed and don't use the preloader. So if I want to remove all non original data, the format would be enough? ("It only deletes non-essential titleIDs")
     

Share This Page