DIOS MIOS + Super Mario Sunshine

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by suppow, Nov 6, 2012.

Nov 6, 2012
  1. suppow
    OP

    Member suppow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    so i've been wanting to play mario sunshine, but it seems the disk wont read anymore :cry:
    i tried running it via Dios Mios, but couldnt get it to work.
    is it compatible?

    could anyone anyone give me a quick guide to get Super Mario Sunshine to load from USB via Dios Mios?


    thanks.
     


  2. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,895
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Super Mario Sunshine is completely compatible with DIOS MIOS. The Widescreen, NMM, and No Disc patches also work well.

    If you're having issues, make sure you have the latest version of DIOS MIOS installed and that you're using a compatible loader like Configurable USB Loader MOD.
     
  3. suppow
    OP

    Member suppow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    thanks, the one i'm using is USBLoaderGX, and Luigi's Mansion worked via SD card, i'm a bit confused as to what version to install for USB =/
     
  4. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,895
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    If you had been using DML in order to play GameCube games off your SD card, then you need to install DIOS MIOS in order to play off your USB drive. It's one or the other.
     
  5. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    USB Loader GX v3.0 is only working with DIOS MIOS Lite up to 2.1
    If you are using the latest DIOS MIOS Lite (for SD) or any DIOS MIOS (for USB), then you also need to update the loader to a beta revision. Latest beta is USB Loader GX r1203
     
  6. suppow
    OP

    Member suppow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for the head's up, either i'm stupid or cant find the beta on codegoogle to download
     
  7. suppow
    OP

    Member suppow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    well, seems like i got it working with ULGX v3 + DML.
    at first it wouldnt load (or would but i would get a green screen), but i had to set video to Force NTSC and it worked.
     
  8. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
  9. suppow
    OP

    Member suppow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
  10. suppow
    OP

    Member suppow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    UPDATE:
    i tried different combinations, and it only works with DML1.5 + ULGX v3.
    other combinations didnt work for me, even DM2.4 + r1203
    (empty blackscreen OR apploader error / size, etc.)
     
  11. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I usually get "Apploader size is zero" when there's no disc in the drive, or when it tries to mount the disc but my lens can't read it (which happens a lot on my old console).
    Did you try putting a GC disc in your Wii? I know it shouldn't be needed, but it helps me.

    Blackscreen before the DIOS MIOS logo?
    It's a problem with your drive (DM is unable to mount it)

    Blackscreen after the DIOS MIOS logo : it's probably a wrong video mode setting.

    Do you have a black screen even with DIOS MIOS Lite 2.4 and SD card?

    Are other games working fine?
    Sunshine woks great for me. maybe you are using a wrong (video mode) setting.
     
  12. suppow
    OP

    Member suppow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    thanks. alright, so i did some further testing and here's what i got:

    DiosMiosLite 1.5 + USBLoader v3 ---> works
    DiosMiosLite 2.2 + USBLoader v3 + no disc ---> apploader error
    DiosMiosLite 2.2 + USBLoader v3 + disc ---> boots disc instead
    DiosMiosLite 2.4 + USBLoader v3 ---> wrong settings / update


    DiosMiosLite 2.2 + USBLoader r1203 ---> works (hangs)
    DiosMiosLite 2.4 + USBLoader r1203 ---> works

    DiosMios 2.0 + USBLoader r1203 + disc/no-disc ---> blackscreen BEFORE DM screen
    DiosMios 2.2 + USBLoader r1203 + disc/no-disc ---> blackscreen BEFORE DM screen
    DiosMios 2.4 + USBLoader r1203 + disc/no-disc ---> blackscreen BEFORE DM screen

    - when it worked with/without disc i wrote one entry for both.
    - tried different games, same result.
    USB basically doesnt work, SD card works fine,
    but how could i get them to load from usb?
    having to copy games to the SD is kind of a chore.
     
  13. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Like I said above : USB Loader GX v3.0 is only working with DIOS MIOS Lite up to 2.1
    So for these results:

    DiosMiosLite 1.5 + USBLoader v3 ---> works
    DiosMiosLite 2.2 + USBLoader v3 + no disc ---> apploader error : Normal (wrong setting, v3 doesn't know the new DML settings introduced in 2.2. When there are wrong settings, it try launching the disc which fail)
    DiosMiosLite 2.2 + USBLoader v3 + disc ---> boots disc instead : Normal (same as above, but when there are wrong settings it try launching the disc which works)
    DiosMiosLite 2.4 + USBLoader v3 ---> wrong settings / update : Normal (Same as above, except DML 2.3+ doesn't launch disc anymore but display and error now)
    DiosMiosLite 2.2 + USBLoader r1203 ---> works (hangs) : Not normal. It should work without hanging. It could be a random problem? you could try again. (can be a problem in the loader, I can make mistakes)
    DiosMiosLite 2.4 + USBLoader r1203 ---> works : That's fine.

    All the DML are fine (except the 2.2, but it could be a wrong setting or a random problem).


    All three from USB is not normal :/
    Is your partition the first one on your device? in FAT32, 32k cluster or less, primary and active?
    Are other loaders working fine?
    It could be your device which is not detected/working with DIOS MIOS miniehci driver.
     
  14. suppow
    OP

    Member suppow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    thanks again. i could try DML2.2 + R1203 again with different settings and see if it fixes the hanging.

    the partition is FAT32, 32k or less, primary and active, but it's the 3rd out of 3 partitions,
    i'm guessing that's the problem, though the partition works fine for everything else,
    and on a sidenote i'm pretty sure the other two are inactive.
     
  15. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    it doesn't matter if they are active or not (well, you can only have one active partition at a time, so they are inactive).
    I guess you meant they don't have a letter? but it's a Windows thing, The wii doesn't care if the partition are assigned a letter or not in Windows, all partitions are visible for other devices (Wii, Linux, even another windows operating system, etc.).


    DIOS MIOS doesn't include partition definition when launching a game or using ocarina, etc. it's like "/games/backup.iso" and no "partition:/games/backup.iso"
    As there's no partition specified, only one can be used, and it only look at the very first partition on the drive.
     
  16. suppow
    OP

    Member suppow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    oh crap :lol:
    ok, so that was the issue all along,
    is there a quick way to make that partition the first one, without having to reformat the whole drive?
    or does it depend only on the physical location of the partition on the disk? (AKA i'm screwed)
    btw, the 1st partition is in WBFS which i'm guessing also has to be the 1st partition on the disk in order to work with USBLoader (?)

    oh well, thanks anyways. i guess there must have said somewhere that i needed to be the 1st partition and i never read that part, shame on me :P
     
  17. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    WBFS doesn't have to be the first.

    If your first partition is WBFS, then you are saved !
    You can convert WBFS to FAT32 without loosing your games :D

    if you don't want to convert it to FAT32 and keep it as WBFS (your choice :P), I know there's a way to set a partition order in the partition table. But I don't know if it works with DIOS MIOS.
    I don't know how change the order, I never needed it.

    PsyBlade should know (he did the WBFS to FAT32 converter, look in the link in my signature for the converter).
    But you better convert your partition and be sure it's works.
     
  18. suppow
    OP

    Member suppow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    nice! good news indeed, thanks for the info!
    before i do convert WBFS to FAT32, is there any advantage to WBFS over FAT32 with USBLoader? (speed, size, etc?)
    and i guess i'd also wonder if there's a similar way to simply convert it from FAT32 to WBFS? :huh:
    oh, and i'm positive that the partition was NTFS before converting it to WBFS, should i be concerned about that being an issue?

    sory for all the questions!
    ^_^
     
  19. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    ntfs to wbfs format doesn't affect the wbfs to fat32.
    There's no way to convert a FAT32 to WBFS (and shouldn't be needed).

    WBFS was created only because USBloader didn't read any known format when first introduced.
    Now that they can read FAT32, NTFS, ext, there's no need of WBFS. It's not faster, it's even not stable and corrupts games a lot.
    Only advantage over FAT32 is that games are not split in multiple files, and some users have problem with split games. But you can use NTFS if you don't want to split a game in multiple files.

    The size is the same (if not less in FAT32, depending on the sector size of your device).
    on WBFS partition, there are multiple games. on FAT32 there are multiple "virtual WBFS partition with one game" which are what you see as .wbfs files. So the content is the same.

    There are maybe differences which can be considered advantage by some users, but I don't have any in mind except about the fragmentation (doesn't suffer from it, but can't be unfragmented, while other partition format can be unfragmented easily on your computer).

    You can check your games on the WBFS partition before converting (or after if you want) with a tool (wit/wwt) or with WiiBackupManager, wbfs tend to corrupt old games when adding new one.
     
  20. suppow
    OP

    Member suppow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    sorry for he delayed response,
    thanks alot Cyan, i went ahead and formatted to fat32, and surely enough all the wbfs's work fine,
    and seeing my backup of sunshine worked fine as well, i went ahead and backed up most of my other gc, just in case ^^
    most work with no problems, and yay i get to load from hdd =D

    i wonder if the multidisc games like RE's would work,
    if you want me to try extracting both discs on a same folder, and see if that works,
    you could give me some pointers on that i'd give it a try.
    idk if you still think that'd help

    well anyway thanks cyan for all the help, greatly appreciated ^^
     

Share This Page