Dios Mios Problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by FuzzyDunlop, Jul 19, 2012.

Jul 19, 2012

Dios Mios Problem by FuzzyDunlop at 12:19 AM (4,593 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. FuzzyDunlop
    OP

    Newcomer FuzzyDunlop Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Hi all, I'm new to posting here at GBATemp. I've lurked the forums for quite a while, however. Anyway, I'm having a problem playing Gamecube games on my Wii. I installed the latest version of Dios-Mios with [​IMG] WAD Manager 1.7, I'm using [​IMG] USB Loader GX to load my gamecube game from the USB drive. When I try to boot up the game (Wind Waker) in USB Loader, I'd get the error "Fatal Error Apploader Size is zero!". I thought that was odd, so I proceeded to put in a Gamecube disc and I put the No Disc option to OFF. After that, when I attempted to boot Wind Waker, the gamecube game I put in (Resident Evil: Remake) would boot instead. I thought that was very odd. I read that if you installed dios-mios, you wouldn't be able to play retail games, but I can boot Resident Evil off the disk just fine, so clearly I installed it wrong. I went back to the [​IMG] WAD manager and reinstalled DM, but the same issue continues to persist.

    Anyone have any idea what the problem could be? I'm running out of ideas. Sorry if I wasn't clear enough, if I didn't elaborate enough, please just ask whatever you need to know, and I will tell. Thanks and I apologize for any grammatical errors in advance, as I typed this in quite a rush. I also made a thread in backup loaders, but i figured this board would be more appropriate. I couldn't find a way to delete, so I apologize to any mod that's inconvenienced by it.
     
  2. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Hmm, I've seen other people mention this error before as well and have been curious as to what could cause it. I haven't seen any answers yet, though.

    Just some clarification first, exactly what version of DM do you have installed? (I'm assuming 2.1 or 2.2)
    When it runs the GC retail disk in the drive, does it show the Dios Mios splash screen first or not?
    Did you have anything installed before for GC games like DML, QuadForce, cMIOS, etc or did you just play your GC games through the disk channel the normal way?

    First suggestion, again with WAD Manager 1.7, try UN-installing the Dios Mios WAD first and THEN install it AGAIN to make sure the function of the old MIOS is completely removed. We'll go from there.


    EDIT : Just an added note, Dios Mios IS supposed to be able to boot retail games from the disk channel and from loaders if they tell it to but this bug has happened to people even when using one of the versions where that feature was broken.
    (for some reason, yeah, as mentioned below, v2.2 seems to be having this problem with more people that usual.)
     
  3. Exige

    Newcomer Exige Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I'm having the same problem with v2.2. Downgrading to v2.1 seems to have fixed the issue for the time being.
     
  4. bm123456

    Member bm123456 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    565
    Location:
    Houston
    Country:
    United States
    Usb loader hasn't been updated yet to work with the new 2.2 Dios Mios , u need to use Dios Mios booter by Fix94 until the loaders are updated.

    Same for Exige too, 2.1 dm will work with all loaders, 2.2 all the loaders need to be updated or u will get that ERROR
     
  5. FuzzyDunlop
    OP

    Newcomer FuzzyDunlop Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, Maxternal, I am using 2.2, I did get the Dios Mios splash screen, and no, this is the first sort of modification I've done for anything related to the gamecube. So, all I need to do is downgrade to 2.1 and it should work, hopefully? Alright, I'll try that and post an update in a few moments. Thanks for the help, gentlemen.

    EDIT: I wasn't able to find a version 2.1 of DIOS MIOS, but I did find 2.0. And yep, I uninstalled 2.2, installed 2.0, and it works like a charm. I'd like to thank you guys that helped me in this thread sincerely because I've been wanting to play Wind Waker for quite a long time.(tried emulating it but ran into far too many problems) I hope this thread helps more people that had a similar problem to me as well.
     
  6. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,176
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    2.1 wad http://www.mediafire.com/?dglsyd7e8qp820y ;)
     
  7. FuzzyDunlop
    OP

    Newcomer FuzzyDunlop Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    1 person likes this.
  8. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica

Share This Page