Dios Mios 2.5 issue

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by gooddegenerate, Dec 8, 2012.

Dec 8, 2012

Dios Mios 2.5 issue by gooddegenerate at 6:52 AM (1,629 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. gooddegenerate
    OP

    Newcomer gooddegenerate Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    Okay so I have usb loader gx r1203 I believe, and dios mios 2.5.. When I load up gamecube games, after a while they shut off on their own and turn the wii off. I've been led to believe this is a hard drive issue.

    Someone said 2.6 set the ping delay to 25 seconds of inactivity as to avoid this issue. But in 2.6, all my GC games have freeze issues at various points in each game. Windwaker always freezes while at sword training, and GC paper mario always froze on the menu. But these work fine in 2.5

    So I was wondering if it would be possible for someone to create a custom 2.5 revision of dios mios that has a 25 second ping delay?
     
  2. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,437
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    The 25sec delay does NOT fix the Wii shutting down, it's only to prevent the HDD to go to sleep mode and making the game freeze (not shut down).

    About your freezes in 2.6 and not in 2.5 then it would means that "25sec" is not what you need, on the contrary.

    2.6 added two things:
    - 25sec instead of 120sec for HDD sleep timer. If this is the cause of the freezes, you may need to set it back to 2min instead of 25sec.
    - disc2 auto-swap features by detecting when a game require a disc change. If this is the cause of the freezes, maybe your setup or game is sending a "need to swap disc" when not needed? but we can't monitor it.

    And some IRQ reset, but I don't understand them.
     
  3. gooddegenerate
    OP

    Newcomer gooddegenerate Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    Oh so its possible this has nothing to do with my harddrive then? Cause I was thinking of trying dios mios lite and seeing if the GC games have this problem on SD card
     
  4. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,437
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    You can try to update DM2.6 again if you took it on release day (there were two version at few hours interval).
    You can try another loader, for example DMBooter.
    if all fails, you can try DML and games on SD card to see if the freezes are part of the swap feature (present in both DM and DML) or part of the sleep timer (only in DM).
     
  5. gooddegenerate
    OP

    Newcomer gooddegenerate Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    Okay so you want me to test dios mios lite 2.6 and dios mios 2.6

    Also I just updated to usb loader gx r1204 and now it says dios mios 2.5 in the credits now. Before when I had r1203 it said I had dm2.3 or something (even though I had 2.5).
    Maybe the previous version didn't recognize I had 2.5 or higher? Could it be why I had the issue still?
     
  6. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,437
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    it's not the issue.
    It's just that detection of the installed DM(L) is hardcoded in the loader, so versions released after the Loader are unknown and detected as "+" (more recent than the current known version at the date of the loader's release).
    It doesn't make DM incompatible, just the version not detected.

    I'm using hardcoded detection because the version number used in DM(L) wad file was not always updated and reflecting the real installed version.
     
  7. gooddegenerate
    OP

    Newcomer gooddegenerate Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    Oh okay, well I'll test various scenarios and see what happens.

    Cause I figured out how to force it to do the shut off thing. I basically just load up a gc game, and don't even bother playing it, and after a few minutes it just shuts off by itself.
     
  8. gooddegenerate
    OP

    Newcomer gooddegenerate Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    Okay so I tried redownloading dios mios 2.6 and it turns out I must've had the first version, cause
    the freezes are no longer there.

    So now that the freeze issue has been resolved to my knowledge, I want to resolve the power down issue.
    I tried playing Wind Waker with DM 2.6 and it still powers off after 5 minutes
    of no controller activity. If I play the game actively it lasts anywhere from 30 minutes to 3 hours
    but still shuts off eventually.

    So I decided to go ahead and attempt playing the game using DM Lite 2.6. It prompted me to copy
    to SD and then I started the game under the same conditions and then I stopped using the controller.
    I left it on for 3 hours and it never shut off. (Also the HDD was unplugged after I copied the game to
    SD, cause I didn't know if the power off thing would still interfere.. just in case.)

    This means it can't be the swap issue and instead must be something with the HDD and Dios Mios. All
    versions from 2.2 to 2.6 have the shut off issue for me.

    I guess I can use DM lite until this issue is resolved but I have lots of Gc games on my HDD and it'd
    be more convenient to play them directly from usb instead of having to copy and delete from my SD card
    whenever I run out of room.


    So now that we've seemed to pinpoint the issue and we know its the HDD and Dios Mios, what should I do
    next?
     
  9. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,437
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I tried launching a game (Mario sunshine), and left it untouched for 20min (in town, not on title screen/intro looping), it didn't shut down.
    Other users didn't report this problem, so it's probably only on your side.

    It could be your HDD, but I don't know how to debug that.
    Can't you disable the sleep timer completely (if it has a sleep timer)?
    Do you have another HDD to test with? even an USB flash stick.

    I looks like your drive is set to 5min of inactivity, so once it shutdowns DM crashes and shutdowns the wii.
    The waker in DM doesn't seems to work for everyone. other users suggested that it's because it's always asking the same sector which is in cache so the drive doesn't seek the data.

    Solutions I can think:
    - disable the timer with a software (usually provided by your HDD maker)
    - use another HDD which can disable timer
    - use a flash drive (SSD? USBstick)
     
  10. gooddegenerate
    OP

    Newcomer gooddegenerate Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    Oh I figured out.. its only windwaker that does the inactivity thing to me (after about 5 minutes with DM)

    but every game does the thing where it shuts off randomly sometime after 45 minutes to a few hours.
     
  11. gooddegenerate
    OP

    Newcomer gooddegenerate Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    so what can I do about the shutting off randomly after a while thing
     
  12. Conmore

    Newcomer Conmore Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah. Happened to me too. But only if I'm on a menu for a certain amount of time in SSBM.
     

Share This Page