Difference between Softmod and Hard modded?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mike1984, Nov 8, 2009.

Nov 8, 2009
  1. mike1984
    OP

    Member mike1984 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    Canada
    Just asking. How do I check? Sounds a little stupid but i'm a noob lol.
     
  2. CHUNKYBOWSER

    Newcomer CHUNKYBOWSER Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    A softmod is installing something on the Wii to make it work differently, like using Bannerbomb to install the Homebrew channel. A hardmod is actually taking apart the Wii and connecting a chip to it to allow you to play burnt-to-disc Wii games.
     
  3. Okami Wolfen

    Member Okami Wolfen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    softmod = software modification
    hardmod = hardware modification
     
  4. mike1984
    OP

    Member mike1984 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    Canada
    I know both of those things but let me explain a little further. I bought my modded wii from someone. I never asked what type of modification they made. How do I check?
     
  5. UniqueGeek

    Member UniqueGeek PMD Researcher

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,326
    Country:
    United States
    Are you asking if it is soft-modded or hard-modded?
    If so, look and see if the Homebrew Channel has been installed.
     
  6. mike1984
    OP

    Member mike1984 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    Canada
    Let's say there is a channel for that?

    Let's say there isn't??
     
  7. matguitarist

    Member matguitarist GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    If you don't see any channel but you can play backup copy you have a modchip ... take a look a your wii does your wii seem to had be open ?

    PS You can softmod your wii even if you have a modchip ... it will be use for loading homebrew , tool , etc...
     
  8. mike1984
    OP

    Member mike1984 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    Canada
    So if I do have a mod chip, are there any limitations or cautions I should be worried about? Should I not do certain things or is there absolutely no difference in the way I will use my Wii?
     

Share This Page