custom H&S screens on 4.0?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by zidane_genome, Apr 9, 2009.

Apr 9, 2009
  1. zidane_genome
    OP

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    I'm kinda sad I lost my H&S screen when I upped to 4.0... so, is there a way to get it back yet, or not? I haven't seen anything on the topic, and would be nice if someone could point me to a tut or even an app!
     
  2. crwys

    Member crwys GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,146
    Country:
    United States
    Sure you can, simple as repacking the new system menu wad. Manually of course, I hate using apps anyways.
     
  3. zidane_genome
    OP

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    well, how would one go about that? I have no idea even where to look for SystemMenu 4.WAD (google was no help)...

    I'd rather have something simple like SoftMii hacks installer (like on 3.2) and use Healthii to make the screens... I mean, I have a few on my SD card already, just wanna install them!
     
  4. crwys

    Member crwys GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,146
    Country:
    United States
    You gota dump one of your newly bought games. Like any game released after April i would think, to get the system menu 4.0 wad. Then you just edit it with, ASH unpacker, HowardC's u8 tool, and a tpl editor, i would make a guide, but i am extremely sick at the moment.
     
  5. MightyMouse

    Member MightyMouse GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    AntiSoftMii
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the new system menu uses the 72.app for NTSC and 75.app for PAL apparently...so you would need to extract that from your NAND and then modify the health screen accordingly..

    it_has_a_ENG_US.tpl it should still be i believe

    its in

    /layout/common/health.ash when you extract the .app
     
  6. crwys

    Member crwys GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,146
    Country:
    United States
    Well when you say 72.app.... That isn't the official name, that is some lame weird name softmii gave it. Nand dump is a good idea, and another way to do it.

    /layout/common/health.ash

    That can be right but it depends what you extract it with.
     
  7. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    MightyMouse is absolutly right.
    You should dump your FS and search for the 72 or 75 app, depending on your region.
    Then start manually editing the files using the knowen tools.

    There's no tool for those files, yet.

    If you don't have a path like this: /layout/common/health.ash
    you probably did something wrong...
    modding those files is very dangerous. you could easily end up bricked!
     
  8. MightyMouse

    Member MightyMouse GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    AntiSoftMii
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its not someweird name softmii gave it

    if you actually look on your NAND you will see 000000072.app along with 000000073.app which is your system menu .dol

    OK :-)

    like on 3.2

    42 was NTSC graphics 43 was NTSC system menu, 45 was PAL graphics and 46 was PAL system menu.


    edit - thank you WiiShizzza, there you go, confirmation from a graphics pro.
     
  9. zidane_genome
    OP

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    So, if I dump 72, and run it though the Healthii, would that do the same thing?
     
  10. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    not quite sure. But doubt it.
    I think healthii uses files from sysmenu3.2.wad

    You should ask IceFire directly.
     
  11. MightyMouse

    Member MightyMouse GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    AntiSoftMii
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it should do dude, and if softmii tweak uses ISFS the same as Healthiii installer does then as look as its named 000000075.appZidane or suttin it should install to the right place on the nand, needless to say you got preloader and your not touching 73 which is the new system menu so give it a shot, i imagine it works.

    makings themes aint hard to do dude, its just the man hours


    edit - but as Shizzza just said am not sure if Healthiii accepts .apps or not, and a few things have changed in the layout with the new menu and everything.

    better of doing it manually its not hard
     
  12. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    see... different opinions...
    go and get that file out of your nand and try it.

    feedback is welcome [​IMG]

    //EDIT:
    cinstall (Softmii Tweak Tool, ReplaceMii Tool) coded by crediar
    can surly install all files inside the 100000002 folder.
     
  13. MightyMouse

    Member MightyMouse GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    AntiSoftMii
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thats what i was thinking Shizzza mate, he should be able to install it, its just making the new one..

    might actually open up a 75 later and see whats changed :-)
     
  14. ften

    Member ften GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    My house
    Country:
    Bangladesh
    The health.ash file was modified slightly to include new Chinese and Korean health screens. So there are 4 new tpls and the .brlyt has been changed to accommodate the new screens.

    -FTen

    Edit: Actually here is a quick run done screenshot of everything that changed in 72.app. I didn't break it down to the tpl level, but if anyone is intrested in everything that changed it will give you a start.
    http://www.fathertom.net/hardwii/pictures/4-0changesbig.jpg Intrestingly this image is not correct because DiffDog didn't pick up some of the changed .ash files for some reason, thanks for pointing that out Pebls123. I guess I'll publish a full change image file in a day or so, along with an updated chart list.
     

Share This Page