Hacking custom H&S screens on 4.0?

zidane_genome

My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?
Member
Joined
May 21, 2006
Messages
2,320
Trophies
0
Age
40
Website
Visit site
XP
265
Country
United States
I'm kinda sad I lost my H&S screen when I upped to 4.0... so, is there a way to get it back yet, or not? I haven't seen anything on the topic, and would be nice if someone could point me to a tut or even an app!
 

crwys

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
1,146
Trophies
0
XP
600
Country
United States
Sure you can, simple as repacking the new system menu wad. Manually of course, I hate using apps anyways.
 

zidane_genome

My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?
Member
Joined
May 21, 2006
Messages
2,320
Trophies
0
Age
40
Website
Visit site
XP
265
Country
United States
well, how would one go about that? I have no idea even where to look for SystemMenu 4.WAD (google was no help)...

I'd rather have something simple like SoftMii hacks installer (like on 3.2) and use Healthii to make the screens... I mean, I have a few on my SD card already, just wanna install them!
 

crwys

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
1,146
Trophies
0
XP
600
Country
United States
You gota dump one of your newly bought games. Like any game released after April i would think, to get the system menu 4.0 wad. Then you just edit it with, ASH unpacker, HowardC's u8 tool, and a tpl editor, i would make a guide, but i am extremely sick at the moment.
 

MightyMouse

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
350
Trophies
0
Location
AntiSoftMii
Website
Visit site
XP
1
Country
the new system menu uses the 72.app for NTSC and 75.app for PAL apparently...so you would need to extract that from your NAND and then modify the health screen accordingly..

it_has_a_ENG_US.tpl it should still be i believe

its in

/layout/common/health.ash when you extract the .app
 

crwys

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
1,146
Trophies
0
XP
600
Country
United States
Well when you say 72.app.... That isn't the official name, that is some lame weird name softmii gave it. Nand dump is a good idea, and another way to do it.

/layout/common/health.ash

That can be right but it depends what you extract it with.
 

WiiShizzza

Graphics juggler
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
1,201
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
230
Country
Gambia, The
MightyMouse is absolutly right.
You should dump your FS and search for the 72 or 75 app, depending on your region.
Then start manually editing the files using the knowen tools.

There's no tool for those files, yet.

If you don't have a path like this: /layout/common/health.ash
you probably did something wrong...
modding those files is very dangerous. you could easily end up bricked!
 

MightyMouse

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
350
Trophies
0
Location
AntiSoftMii
Website
Visit site
XP
1
Country
its not someweird name softmii gave it

if you actually look on your NAND you will see 000000072.app along with 000000073.app which is your system menu .dol

OK :-)

like on 3.2

42 was NTSC graphics 43 was NTSC system menu, 45 was PAL graphics and 46 was PAL system menu.


edit - thank you WiiShizzza, there you go, confirmation from a graphics pro.
 

MightyMouse

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
350
Trophies
0
Location
AntiSoftMii
Website
Visit site
XP
1
Country
it should do dude, and if softmii tweak uses ISFS the same as Healthiii installer does then as look as its named 000000075.appZidane or suttin it should install to the right place on the nand, needless to say you got preloader and your not touching 73 which is the new system menu so give it a shot, i imagine it works.

makings themes aint hard to do dude, its just the man hours


edit - but as Shizzza just said am not sure if Healthiii accepts .apps or not, and a few things have changed in the layout with the new menu and everything.

better of doing it manually its not hard
 

WiiShizzza

Graphics juggler
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
1,201
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
230
Country
Gambia, The
see... different opinions...
go and get that file out of your nand and try it.

feedback is welcome
smile.gif


//EDIT:
cinstall (Softmii Tweak Tool, ReplaceMii Tool) coded by crediar
can surly install all files inside the 100000002 folder.
 

ften

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Messages
151
Trophies
0
Age
112
Location
My house
Website
fathertom.net
XP
306
Country
Bulgaria
The health.ash file was modified slightly to include new Chinese and Korean health screens. So there are 4 new tpls and the .brlyt has been changed to accommodate the new screens.

-FTen

Edit: Actually here is a quick run done screenshot of everything that changed in 72.app. I didn't break it down to the tpl level, but if anyone is intrested in everything that changed it will give you a start.
http://www.fathertom.net/hardwii/pictures/4-0changesbig.jpg Intrestingly this image is not correct because DiffDog didn't pick up some of the changed .ash files for some reason, thanks for pointing that out Pebls123. I guess I'll publish a full change image file in a day or so, along with an updated chart list.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: eh