"Could not Play" after working fine for months.

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by PhoenixWynd, Apr 30, 2017.

  1. PhoenixWynd
    OP

    PhoenixWynd Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 30, 2017
    United States
    Hey, all of a sudden my homebrew soundhax stopped working. I've not changed anything in my sd or added any new games nothing, it just says could not play and has a red circle with a line through beside it now. Why is this? Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. BL4Z3D247

    BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Member
    1,527
    362
    Oct 22, 2008
    United States
    I'm so high, I don't even know!
    Did you upgrade to 11.4?
     
  3. PhoenixWynd
    OP

    PhoenixWynd Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 30, 2017
    United States
    Probably not. Lol I assumed that was the case but I am being really lazy, it's a Sunday. Can you link me to the update?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Ok so yeah I did actually. Is that problematic?
     
  4. PhoenixWynd
    OP

    PhoenixWynd Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 30, 2017
    United States
    Never mind I'll stop being lazy and figure it out. I just didn't want to do legwork someone else may have already known the fix to
     
  5. BL4Z3D247

    BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Member
    1,527
    362
    Oct 22, 2008
    United States
    I'm so high, I don't even know!
    Yeah, 11.4 patched SoundHax. There was Doodlebomb but that just recently got patched with an update to Swapdoodle.

    My advice would be to stay on 11.4 until an exploit is found or SigHax is released. Then get custom firmware, even if you're not pirating it's good to have so your homebrew works after an update. If you hadn't updated you could've already installed A9LH and Luma3DS on 11.3 and been able to use homebrew still.
     
  6. PhoenixWynd
    OP

    PhoenixWynd Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 30, 2017
    United States
    So is there no way I can get homebrew to work on 11.4 without buying cubic ninja? Cause I gotta say that kinda frustrates me. Is there not a way to restore the system to before the update. I have the MM New 3DS xl. Firmware freaking 11.4.0.37-U... That angers me. I don't remember updating the system. I feel like maybe my roommate was messing with my things...
     
  7. BL4Z3D247

    BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Member
    1,527
    362
    Oct 22, 2008
    United States
    I'm so high, I don't even know!
    As of this very moment, there is not, I'm sorry. Without CFW there's no way to go back. If you don't remember updating to 11.4 then someone updated your firmware as it needs to be done manually on the 3DS. Again I'm sorry, that's real shitty. Hopefully someone finds another exploit on 11.4 or SigHax is released(you'll need a CFW'd 2DS/3DS and DSiWareHax to install it though).
     
  8. PhoenixWynd
    OP

    PhoenixWynd Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 30, 2017
    United States
    is
    . Thanks, dang man that blows. Friday I was playing through Fire Emblem GBA on homebrew and I left to go see my son and visit with him for a while I get home and my homebrew isn't working. I'm so pissed at these people that live with me right now. So, if I do go and get cubic ninja though, that will allow me to run homebrew even on the updated firmware, correct?
     
  9. BL4Z3D247

    BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Member
    1,527
    362
    Oct 22, 2008
    United States
    I'm so high, I don't even know!
    NinjHax only works for N3DSes on 11.4.
     
  10. Ominous66521

    Ominous66521 GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,055
    234
    Feb 7, 2016
    United States
    There is a chance that your 3ds automatically updated if you left it on the whole day with the screen on and on the charger.Im not saying I'm 100% correct but since ofw doesn't block updates,then its still a possibility.
     
    Last edited by Ominous66521, Apr 30, 2017
  11. PhoenixWynd
    OP

    PhoenixWynd Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 30, 2017
    United States
    I guess that's a small comfort, thinking people were going through my things without asking really bugs me. And Bl4z3D247 I think that's what your name was, When you say N3DSes does that not include mine? Remember I said I have the New 3DS XL Majoras Mask Edition. Is there a difference between mine and the normal N3DS? I did not think there was. I will gladly admit my ignorance and say I am not 100% certain though.
     
  12. BL4Z3D247

    BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Member
    1,527
    362
    Oct 22, 2008
    United States
    I'm so high, I don't even know!
    That's not possible as far as I know. You have to press "A" to accept it and "A" to close the charging warning window in order to start the update(unless it doesn't nag you when it's plugged in).
     
    Last edited by BL4Z3D247, Apr 30, 2017
  13. Ominous66521

    Ominous66521 GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,055
    234
    Feb 7, 2016
    United States
    On cfw it isn't possible since luma already blocks automatic updates.On ofw however,there is a slight chance.
     
    Last edited by Ominous66521, Apr 30, 2017
  14. BL4Z3D247

    BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Member
    1,527
    362
    Oct 22, 2008
    United States
    I'm so high, I don't even know!
    You have to physically accept the update first for it to automatically download the update and install it.