.cmd .bat for linux ubuntu?

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by coolness, May 13, 2011.

May 13, 2011

.cmd .bat for linux ubuntu? by coolness at 5:00 PM (1,912 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. coolness
    OP

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    is there a program that let run .cmd and .bat files
    because i want to use my Javabot and it have run.cmd to start
    or must i change the extension of the file to let it run in the Terminal?
     
  2. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Linux uses BASH so you'd need a .SH script AFAIK. Completely different syntax. Just use terminal to run the app directly if its a Linux program.
     
  3. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    batch files are for use with the windows terminal.
    Instead, you can use shell scripts (any extension, although .sh is typically used) which are different to batch scripts in a good way.

    can you paste the contents of the batch file here? I'm sure I can rewrite it for use with a generic distro.

    EDIT: it probably is a one-liner.
     
  4. coolness
    OP

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i while pm you the link with the run.cmd file
    because it contains a msn account/password
    EDIT: its a msnbot thats why it have the run.cmd
    its orginally brians msnbot but first it steals passwords i coded the bot and removed the password thing [​IMG]
    EDIT EDIT: Antoligy helped me [​IMG]
     
  5. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Anyone have any ideas how I automatically pass a yes to a command inside a shell script?
    I have a mount -t davfs running which uses https and thus uses encryption over SSL. However the mount requires a valid certificate OR it asks for confirmation to accept this 'unknown' certificate (asking a y or an N). I have already tried to get the certificate of the server in davfs2's config however I seem to be unable to get it to register.

    I've tried to do
    root@scorpei~:/backup
     
  6. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
     
  7. Nollog

    Member Nollog GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,691
    Country:
    Ireland
    apt-get install wine1.3
     

Share This Page