Clicking noises and errors.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Bryan_, Apr 11, 2009.

Apr 11, 2009

Clicking noises and errors. by Bryan_ at 7:44 AM (966 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Bryan_
    OP

    Newcomer Bryan_ Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Earlier today, my Wii was working just fine. I go to play a backup of a game and it firstly errors me in Backup Gamma 0.3 with Error 324. So I looked that up, reinstalled the cIOS.

    Now my games load (sometimes) and whenever they boot up, the drive starts clicking persistently, failing to load and then eventually erroring out.

    Any help would be appreciated. I've tried uninstalling DVDx, reinstalling cIOS's, reinstalling Backup Launcher, cleaning the disc, turning the Wii on all of its sides..

    Firmware: 3.3u

    edit: I get the 324 error now on all games.. even originals. The regular disc channel won't play anything either.
     
  2. Helsionium

    Member Helsionium Alpha and Omega

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    Innsbruck, Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    Probably a bad burn or a bad image. Try burning again, if possible with a different brand of DVD-R.
     
  3. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    Its more then likely the media your using.I used a dvd+r set to dvd-rom booktype and it clicked loud as hell.Burnt the same game on a dvd-r and it was 10 x quieter.
     
  4. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Verbatim DVD-Rs burned at 2.4x work well, I've heard.
     
  5. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Invest in an HDD and use the USB Loader, then never deal with discs again.
     
  6. Bryan_
    OP

    Newcomer Bryan_ Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I've backed up about 20 games and they all worked, all of them.. up until this evening. Don't know what happened, I just started getting errors.

    I might try formatting (after backing up my save files) and then just readding cIOS and Backup Launcher 0.3. Does anyone have any tips for that or is it just straightforward?

    Edit: Bah, my flash drive is only 2gb. But I'm really not the one who plays the Wii, my brother and his friends used it more than me. They're only 13 so having game discs is just a tad easier than swapping out isos on a flash drive every time they want to play.
     
  7. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Don't format. It usually causes more problems then it solves.
     
  8. Bryan_
    OP

    Newcomer Bryan_ Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Update: I get the 324 error now on all games.. even originals. The regular disc channel won't play anything either.
     
  9. D4rkl1nXus

    Newcomer D4rkl1nXus Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I had the same issue it fixed it self when I put a retail gamecube game in really don't know what caused it "i think it was the upgrade to 4.0. I was kind of freaking out as it refused all disks I thought it was briked but some how the gamecube disk reset it. I had the issue on and off and it was annoying so I reinstalled wans cios and that seemed to do it.
     
  10. Helsionium

    Member Helsionium Alpha and Omega

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    Innsbruck, Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    That looks very much like your Wii's laser just died completely... You know, some Wii drives were faulty to begin with, so it's not that big of a deal. Nintendo should replace the unit free of charge, even after the warranty has expired.

    But be sure to at least try either or each of the following before:
    - Try playing GC originals
    - Update
    - A lens cleaner
     
  11. Bryan_
    OP

    Newcomer Bryan_ Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the tips.. the gamecube thing didn't work. I formatted and still nothing. So I guess my laser completely died.. I've opened my Wii up before in an attempt to install a modchip but failed, and never modded it. This was like two years ago. It's been working ever since, and I softmodded it about two months ago. It was just working yesterday evening.

    So can I still get them to fix it if I've opened up my Wii?
     
  12. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    Seems like a hardware failure. Send it to nintendo and the unit should be replaced. If the unit's been opened I don't know if they will replace it free but it's worth a try.
     

Share This Page