can 3D be displayed when holding the system sideways?

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by nikkuchan, Jul 20, 2011.

1. nikkuchan
    OP

Member nikkuchan GBAtemp Regular

Japan
    To my knowledge, there aren't any 3DS games that involve holding the system sideways, but I wondered whether or not the screen is capable of displaying 3D in that position. Anybody know? I have no knowledge concerning the technology that the 3DS employs to stimulate my depth perception.

2. Aijelsop

Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

United States
    Hmm, I don't believe any games are made for sideways use. I don't think it would be possible. Try turning your 3DS on it's side at the Home Menu.

3. Vulpes Abnocto

Former Staff Vulpes Abnocto Drinks, Knows Things

United States
    I'm fairly certain your head would have to be oriented in the same way as the top screen....so no.
    Don't expect Rhythm Heaven 3D

4. Presto99

Member Presto99 You slammin, bro?

United States
    I read the whole manual before I got mine... [​IMG] It specifically said you can't see 3D with the system on its side. I've even tried, and I'm pretty sure it just shows you a single 2D image. I guess some cool stuff could be done if it weren't like this, but whatever. Can't you see 3D with the 3DS all the way upside down though?

5. AshuraZro

Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

Canada
    This is simply not possible due to the way the screen works.

6. nikkuchan
    OP

Member nikkuchan GBAtemp Regular

Japan
    I'm not worried about games like Rhythm Heaven; the Wii version comes out tomorrow anyway.

Thanks all for the replies. I didn't know that info was in the manual; I kinda stopped reading manuals a while ago (OoT in Japan didn't even come with a manual btw)

7. Ikki

Member Ikki GBATemp's grumpy panda.

Uruguay
    I don't think that's possible.

But there's also this
    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qs8HRmqjfxE[/youtube]

8. Snailface