Bricked Wii and Savemii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by JetModerno, Oct 12, 2009.

Oct 12, 2009

Bricked Wii and Savemii by JetModerno at 5:29 PM (2,765 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. JetModerno
    OP

    Newcomer JetModerno Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My Wii is currently bricked after I foolishly tried to downgrade from 4.2

    All I get now is a black screen when I turn on.


    I was told that I can get around this with a Savemii, which arrived in the post.

    I may be being an idiot but how do I use this?

    So far, I've got it plugged in to GC card port 1. The red light comes on the savemii.
    I turn my Wii on, and still a black screen.

    What am I doing wrong?

    Thanks [​IMG]
     
  2. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you have bootmii boot 2? Also, didnt have to buy a savemii. A GC pad in port 4 with all 4 dpad buttons pressed serves the same purpose, google 'savemiifrii'.
     
  3. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Well he says he bought the thing...

    I guess you just stepped onto a stub ios... savemii will not work for you... tell us how you did the downgrading?
     
  4. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    See my sig. But chances are you'll just he disappointed.
     
  5. JetModerno
    OP

    Newcomer JetModerno Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It was thru the Waninikoko 4.2 updater, but then lost my HBC so downgraded via PatchMii IOS Downgrader.

    Hope that helps. [​IMG]
     
  6. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Hmm, so you upgraded to 4.2 using waninkoko's upgrader... from 4.1 I guess..

    IOS downgrader doesn't seem relevant since it seems you didn't install the boot2v4 (if your wii doesn't already come with it)

    If you already had the boot2v4 then it might be the reason of the brick, downgrading on those machines reportedly cause this.

    If this is not the case, dunno what might be...
     
  7. vettacossx

    Member vettacossx Wii Theme Team Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Right Behind You! Uh Oh!
    Country:
    Ireland
    yep thats been confirmed by nabster and others on the site as well downgrading the new boot2 will result in a brick in most cases (i doubt that waninkoko's updater will "alter" your boot2 in anyway however.

    You can see nabsters post in regard to that here for additional confirmation (not as though wiicrazy saying so shouldnt be plenty enough reason to NOT downgrade knowing his reputation as a awesome contributor) but none the less some more info on that can be found here:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=170433
     
  8. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    EDIT: Yups, downgrading to pre-3.4 firmware with boot2v4 = brick.
     
  9. transam81

    Member transam81 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Central California
    Country:
    United States
    oh no another 1 bites the dust. i will some day build a house of wii bricks and ppl from all across the world will come to say "for shame". [​IMG]
     
  10. ARUNAVRAJESH

    Newcomer ARUNAVRAJESH Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    North Pole, Alaska
    Country:
    India
    okay so i have a bricked wii cuz i intalled the 4.1 eu in my ntsc wii now it shows pink green stripes .is savemii helpful in this situation???pls reply~stuckup wii addict
     
  11. izzydeank

    Banned izzydeank Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    United States
    Can you still go to the homebrew channel?
     
  12. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Pink and green stripes is typical of a semi bricked korean wii. Is your wii korean? You should be able to fix it, but it requires a modchip or to have cioscorp/darkcorp installed. Do you have a modchip?
     
  13. ARUNAVRAJESH

    Newcomer ARUNAVRAJESH Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    North Pole, Alaska
    Country:
    India
    yes i have cioscorp but what do i do with it~n00b
     

Share This Page