Bricked Wii after unplugging for a month.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by therockerkid60, Apr 9, 2013.

  1. therockerkid60
    OP

    therockerkid60 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 9, 2013
    United States
    King, North Carolina
    Hey this is my first post here. But I am having a problem with my modded wii. I unplugged it for about a month. So I go to play it. It will only show version number in the corner and I can only load games off disc (never used a wad though.) So could someone help me?
     
  2. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip Reporter
    23,537
    21,496
    Sep 13, 2009
    Poland
    Gaming Grotto
    ...so it's not bricked, it's a fully functioning system? Since you just said you can load up games from discs... :unsure:

    Maybe you just accidentally updated it? "Bricked" means "Black screen, can't do f*ck-all".
     
  3. therockerkid60
    OP

    therockerkid60 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 9, 2013
    United States
    King, North Carolina
    No i didnt update it is still version 4.3 and it says 4.3(USA) when booted
     
  4. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip Reporter
    23,537
    21,496
    Sep 13, 2009
    Poland
    Gaming Grotto
    Do you have access to Homebrew Channel?
     
  5. therockerkid60
    OP

    therockerkid60 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 9, 2013
    United States
    King, North Carolina
    No. It will not boot. I hold reset too. And nothing will happen
     
  6. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip Reporter
    23,537
    21,496
    Sep 13, 2009
    Poland
    Gaming Grotto
    ...what exactly doesn't boot? In one post you say that the system itself boots just fine, in the other you say that you have a black screen and the system doesn't boot. Describe your situation in more detail, tell us if you have BootMii or Priiloader installed etc.
     
  7. therockerkid60
    OP

    therockerkid60 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 9, 2013
    United States
    King, North Carolina
    I have them installed. They will not boot now. When I hold reset nothing happens. So help
     
  8. therockerkid60
    OP

    therockerkid60 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 9, 2013
    United States
    King, North Carolina
    The whole wii menu will not boot either
     
  9. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip Reporter
    23,537
    21,496
    Sep 13, 2009
    Poland
    Gaming Grotto
    Perhaps some of the system files are corrupt, have you considered a whole new re-softmod using ModMii?

    Oh. Alright, so how'd you manage to load games off discs if the System Menu doesn't show up?
     
  10. therockerkid60
    OP

    therockerkid60 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 9, 2013
    United States
    King, North Carolina
    the game will load no matter what if i put in the disc. I will link a youtube video soon about it
     
  11. mauifrog

    mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Member
    1,585
    90
    Jan 21, 2010
    United States
    You either have priiloader installed or you used startpatch. Either way you patch the force standard recovery menu and ignore diagnostic disc check. Hopefully you used priiloader as it should load when turning the wii off, hold reset, power the wii on and keep holding reset. If you used startpatch it will be more complicated as you will need to use a disc exploit to fix it, or a recovery disc if your wii is dip patched. If you used startpatch you should be able to load SSBB and run the hackmii installer, then exit the installer to the HBC and disable the patches with startpatch. Hopefully it was priiloader, just load it and disable those patches.
     
  12. Thomas83Lin

    Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Member
    1,552
    420
    Jul 22, 2009
    United States
    His wii is stuck in recovery mode obviously , I wonder if a priiloader hack could cause his symptoms. though i'm not sure he even has it installed?

    edit:Ninja'd
     
  13. therockerkid60
    OP

    therockerkid60 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 9, 2013
    United States
    King, North Carolina
    Yes for some dumbass reason I turned all all the priloader hacks But I got into prilloader what do i do now?
     
  14. Maxternal

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member
    5,210
    2,073
    Nov 15, 2011
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    If your drive light flashes more than once when you start it up without an SD care in you also have BootMii@boot2 and can just put the bootmii files on an SD card and start up in BootMii. You'll be able to get to the HBC from there, too, if you want.

    EDIT : :ninja:'d
     
  15. Maxternal

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member
    5,210
    2,073
    Nov 15, 2011
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    in priiloader you'd go to the "system menu hacks" and then disable anything that says anything about recovery mode or automatically booting the disk in the drive and hit the "save settings" at the bottom. It should work again after that.
     
  16. therockerkid60
    OP

    therockerkid60 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 9, 2013
    United States
    King, North Carolina
    Fixed!But now im gonna sell this thing towards a new xbox 360 (Dont hate my old one cant even load black ops 2 right) How would i unmod it?
     
  17. Maxternal

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member
    5,210
    2,073
    Nov 15, 2011
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    completely unmodding is kinda risky but if you just turn off all the priiloader hacks and delete the homebrew channel (and any other channels you have that are not really legit) I'm sure no one will be able to tell.

    (even if you work REALLY hard at it I'm sure Nintendo could tell it was once hacked but they're not gonna be sending it in for repairs if they bought it used anyway.)