Backup NDS games?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by MutatedGamer, Dec 17, 2009.

Dec 17, 2009

Backup NDS games? by MutatedGamer at 2:52 AM (1,490 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. MutatedGamer
    OP

    Newcomer MutatedGamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    hello, I am getting a r4 for dsi in the mail soon, and I would like to know how to backup my NDS games. I read you can do it with wifi and download to pc, but can you just dump it right to the sd card? Sorry be being a nub at r4 [​IMG]
     
  2. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    You can't back up directly to your SD card in the R4 since you'll need the game in Slot1 to dump it.

    Here's what you need: http://filetrip.net/f894-NDS-Backup-Tool-%...one-ZIP%29.html
    It has:
    NDS Backup Tool Slot2 v0.31 (16/8/2007)
    NDS Backup Tool Wifi v0.31 (19/8/2007)
    NDS Backup Tool 3in1 v0.3 (19/8/2007)

    The Wifi one will back up to your PC
    The 3-in-1 is for 3-in-1 Slot2 cards [​IMG]
    And Slot2 I would guess is for other Slot2's
     
  3. MutatedGamer
    OP

    Newcomer MutatedGamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    would you mind explaining me how to use wifi one, and what slot2 and 3 in 1 does/are?
     
  4. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Best instructions you can find for backing up DS games with the Wifi tool can be found here:
    http://www.monroeworld.com/myfaq/index.php...cat=7&id=85
    The biggest thing to remember is, you must Must MUST!!!!! have one 'tab space' between the entry and your info in the INI file.

    Slot2 is the GBA Slot. Conversely, Slot1 is the DS slot.
    3-in-1 is a Slot2 device, I believe it's RAM expansion + Rumble + GBA Loader.
    A Slot2 device is a generic term for a flashcart that goes in the GBA slot.
     
  5. MutatedGamer
    OP

    Newcomer MutatedGamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    ok thanks, one more question, to use the wifi do I need to open ports?
     
  6. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure, but I'm going to say "Yes".
    I have mine set up for port 8080 which is already open for Win2DS.
     

Share This Page