Backup Loader/Launcher not working

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by blueeyes, Oct 3, 2008.

Oct 3, 2008
  1. blueeyes
    OP

Newcomer blueeyes Member

United States
    Hallo guys!

I am new to this wii hacking but i am trying my best to learn :-) I want to try the Backup Loader and play
    a couple of my backups.

So yesterday, I rented Zelda and did the Twilight Hack and also got the Homebrew Channel.
    Everything went smooth (too smooth?) and I thought the rest wont be hard at all.

I found a howto guide somewhere on the internet and did step by step. I got both, the Backup Loader and
    the Backup Launcher. I dont know where the difference is, but both have different menus.

First thing I tried after I installed CIOS Patchmii Installer rev4 and dvdx with ios249 was to test out
    Zelda PAL with both backup loaders I had. The Backup Launcher gave me an error:
    Title Identification... ERROR (ret = -4100)
    The Backup Loader seemed to load it just fine, after the inititial screen though (where it says about the controller)
    the screen went black. I thought this might be just a compatibility issue (even though Zelda is reported to work)
    and procceeded to burn a backup. I patched the .iso with backup-creator just fine and burned the .iso afterwards
    with Nero on 2x speed. I also wanted to try imgburn, but imgburn always says something about illegal iso, even though
    I did everything step by step. Oddly enough, the original isos work with imgburn, the patched dont
    work with imgburn.

Again no luck with the backups, Backup Launcher gave me a Subsystem Error -6 and Backup Loader gave me a Identify Error

So I spend the rest of the day (and today) installing/deinstalling various cios and dvdx versions.
    No I run a cios rev. 6 and I dont know if this means progress or not, but I dont get the Subsystem Error -6 anymore, only