1. Legba013

    OP Legba013 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    i just purchased an unpatched switch and it was set to autoupdate. when i connected to the internet, it updated the firmware to 12.0 before i had any chance to attempt a mod.

    now im getting all sorts of errors trying to load up atmosphere. i can load Heckate, but all i get are errors trying to run cfw from there.

    am i screwed? do i have to wait weeks for things to be updated to run on 12.0.0?
     
  2. Kanakops

    Kanakops GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    489
    Country:
    Antarctica
  3. Legba013

    OP Legba013 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    i appreciate the reply. i figured thats what happened. i guess i will have to go buy diablo III to keep me busy until its released.
     
    Kanakops likes this.
  4. AllenGonzales

    AllenGonzales Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Lineage/Android Still works for me but atmosphere is still broken if other people can still get android to download you should be able to emulate any other game just not switch games or have homebrew but I just wanna emulate games mostly anyway so im pretty fine atm but was still mad
     
  5. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,585
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With a bit of luck it will be a matter of days rather than weeks, but just hang in there.
     
    Legba013 likes this.
  6. RedHunter

    RedHunter GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    438
    Country:
    Italy
    What about people using emunand? If I update only the sysnand would I be able to switch to emunand?

    It should break only autorcm I think?
     
  7. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    9,117
    Country:
    United States
    Same rule apply to emunand, you won't be able to launch CFW right now if emunand firmware is on 12.0.0
     
    Last edited by Hayato213, Apr 6, 2021
    RedHunter likes this.
  8. RedHunter

    RedHunter GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    438
    Country:
    Italy
    Ok then guess we have to wait. Atmo updates were way faster than SX ones I remember tho so hopefully it won't take too much.
     
  9. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,585
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you boot sysnand without going through RCM, ie you turn the Switch on and it runs Nintendo's own bootloader (not hekate or fusee-primary) to run sysnand, then you can update your sysnand to latest firmware and it will work and won't affect emunand. If you boot sysnand through hekate, it sounds like you need to wait for a hekate update.
     
  10. nabbestia

    nabbestia Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Italy
    Hello guys. This morning i updated to the latest firmware, and now i can't boot because atmosphere doesn't support firmware 12.0.
    I'm using hekate and atmosphere on emunand. I use the sx os boot to load the payload of atmosphere. Should i wait the new files for hekate and atmosphere and put them in my microSD, Or i will Need to do other things?

    Sorry for my english, i've tried without translate, i hope i did an upgrade :P
     
  11. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    9,117
    Country:
    United States
    12.0.0 just came out yesterday, no support yet, wait a week or so.
     
    nabbestia likes this.
  12. Marshy

    Marshy Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello,
    Just a noobie question,
    Would i need to wait for hekate to update as well or do HOS updades not affect it?
     
  13. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    9,117
    Country:
    United States
    Probably need an update too
     
  14. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,585
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some HOS updates need a hekate update and some don't - it sounds like this one does.
     
  15. starcsream66

    starcsream66 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Cheers, i hit update on luigi's mansion 3 by mistake and it automatically system updated to 12.0
     
  16. Yukarion

    Yukarion Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    so just to confirm what RedHunter asked, i'm able to update sysnand to 12.0.0 and play on that partition by turning on the switch the normal way, while keeping the emuMMC partition on a lower firmware and Atmosphere should still run fine? have a few games on sysnand that might require updates, but I don't really want to break my emuMMC for the next few weeks, especially since the dev has mentioned that it's a tricky update to work around.
     
  17. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,585
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got around to updating my sysnand to 12.0 (and playing some Pacman 99), and I found that for my 11.0.1 emunand to boot, I had to force enable nogc (patch which disables the game card slot), otherwise Horizon failed to boot with a 2002-2634 error ("Error: Failed to access game card."). This is because firmware 12.0 updated the gamecard firmware - so don't update your sysnand yet if you want to use gamecards in emunand (tho not sure why you wouldn't just use them in sysnand). I thought atmosphere auto detected when to enable nogc in this kind of situation, but force enabling it is simple enough, just add "nogc = 1" to /atmosphere/config/BTC.ini where it tells you to (under the [stratosphere] heading). Horizon gives you a message saying the game card can't be read, but you can just say ok and get on with your life.
     
    snoofly likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Atmosphere, firmware,