Any Java Programmers?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Quietlyawesome94, May 11, 2011.

May 11, 2011
  1. Quietlyawesome94
    OP

Member Quietlyawesome94 GBAtemp Maniac

United States
    Hey guys! For the past few weeks I have been learning how to program with Java. I don't have any money to throw around for Online classes and the sort so I have taken the Book and cs106a Stanford U. approach. I chose to start off with "Head First Java: 2nd edition." Its a great book and I feel like i am learning from it. The Stanford U. Lectures from Youtube are also great, but I feel like I can't get everything I could from them since I can not get my hands on "The Art and Science of Java".

I'm just wondering if there are any self taught Java programmers here who could give me some tips on teaching my self self Java in the form of Book recommendations and Free Online courses. (If that even exist lol) Or anything that you think would be helpful. [​IMG]

If your wondering why I have chosen Java.... I chose it because I am an aspiring Android Developer and I feel like Java should give me a firm foundation for future Programming Languages like Visual C, (If i can ever afford a Mac LOL) C++ etc.

2. purplesludge

Member purplesludge anyone have any ideas for this space

United States
  3. Quietlyawesome94
    OP

Member Quietlyawesome94 GBAtemp Maniac

United States
    Thanks, I am thinking about going to college for Computer Programming also. I thought it would be useful to get my hands dirty so its not to foreign to me if I were to go. Any book recommendations? Did you just start programming when you went to University?

4. ChaosZero816

Member ChaosZero816 Temp's Official Random Member

Philippines
    If you truly want to learn then its best to go to any university which specializes in Programming. Having a degree would be beneficial in the long run.
    I am currently taking Computer Science and I'm not self taught.

5. Mazor