Another slightly stupid question

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Gingy, Sep 20, 2008.

Sep 20, 2008

Another slightly stupid question by Gingy at 8:54 PM (1,125 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Gingy
    OP

    Newcomer Gingy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    Does putting a PAL wad on an NTSC Wii carry a risk of banner bricking said Wii? Or will the wad just not work? I ask because I just downloaded a huge pack of wads, but have just now realized that they may indeed by PAL wads instead of what I originally had thought.

    If it won't brick me, but also won't work, is there any way to make those wads compatible with my Wii? Thanks to whoever answers, I appreciate it.
     
  2. Zeek03

    Member Zeek03 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Nah. No harm.

    That's not a banner brick. A banner brick is when you try to edit the banners in the wad and you screw it up. If you Install them It will say: This game Cannot Be Played.

    However, There is a program called "Freethewads" Use this on your wads and they will be region free, meaning you can play them. Even if PAL.
     
  3. Gingy
    OP

    Newcomer Gingy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    Is Freethewads freeware, or must I purchase it?
     
  4. Monster On Strin

    Member Monster On Strin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    The other side of the internet
    Country:
    United States
    free the wads is in the gbatemp download section
    edit:nvm I cant find it
     
  5. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    It's freeware.

    And you can use Starfall.
     
  6. Gingy
    OP

    Newcomer Gingy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    I finally found Freethewads after searching Google for a little while.

    Now how do I use it? I clicked on the .exe file and it did nothing. D:
     
  7. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    It's a command line app.

    GUIs are FTL. CLI is FTW.
     
  8. Gingy
    OP

    Newcomer Gingy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    Well,I guess I'll be using Starfall then.
     

Share This Page