Am I the only one with this problem?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by JJBro1, Apr 3, 2009.

Apr 3, 2009
  1. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    No matter what my 4.0 wii won't read any other sd card other than my 2gb. I formatted all the other cards to fat32 and they still won't be read by the wii it keeps saying device can not be used. Its not just sdhc specific either because i tried to use a 512 mb and that didn't work either. Am i the only one with this problem? Any suggestions on how to fix it? I used the ultimate 4.0 guide.
     
  2. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
  3. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    thats the one i used but i still have the same problem.
     
  4. menage730

    Member menage730 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    try formating to fat16 (fat ) not fat32
     
  5. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    it doesn't even give me that option.
     
  6. menage730

    Member menage730 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    your pc doesnt give you a fat option?
     
  7. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    no when i hit the scroll down menu all it says is FAT32 even the sd app that was linked above doesn't give me the option.
     
  8. menage730

    Member menage730 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    wow im stumped im running xp & i get fat ntfs & fat32 what os you running
     
  9. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not having problems but as far as my copy of xp goes, it will format my 2gb sd card to fat or fat32 but my sdhc can only be formatted fat32, I noticed this the other day and this just reminded me. Maybe it's part of the HC spec?

    to JJBro, have you tried letting the wii system menu format your card then poppin it in your pc to add files to?
     
  10. piratesmack

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    The partition is too large to be formatted as fat16
     
  11. shtonkalot

    Member shtonkalot Can't hold on much longer, But I'll never let go!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Gosford, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    FAT16 only supports up to 2GB partitions.
     
  12. menage730

    Member menage730 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    oki get what you are saying but he stated he also tried a 512 any advice for them
     
  13. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    how do i get the wii to format my sd card? It seems like the wii doesn't want anything to do with it.
     
  14. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    damn sorry dude I THOUGHT I had done it on the wii before but for some reason I can't find the option now sooooo maybe you can't :/ You may have a bad reader on your wii....
     
  15. Zeek03

    Member Zeek03 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Have you ever gotten the other cards to work before? There is no format function on the Wii. Do your cards work on your computer or any other device?
     
  16. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    yes, before the 2gb i was using a 512. But what the two cards had in common were (other than being put in a computer) they were never put in any other device before the wii. The 512mb and 4gb that im trying to use right now can be read by my computer and my flash carts.
     
  17. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page