After patched wii game will work with modchip?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by way4bet, Sep 30, 2008.

Sep 30, 2008
  1. way4bet
    OP

    Newcomer way4bet Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Hi!
    Does anyone know if we patch a wii game if it will work with modchip?
    I already made a search but don't find anything..
    Best Regards
     
  2. Centimetro

    Member Centimetro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    United States
    oops, i jsut asked same thjing in another thread

    but yeah, has anyone tested or just know the answer? =)
     
  3. way4bet
    OP

    Newcomer way4bet Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Does anyone have tested that?
    Someone know what the patch do to the image?
     
  4. Centimetro

    Member Centimetro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    United States
    well, my mod chip is coming in the mail today or tomorrow, so i should be able to test soon...
     
  5. bander

    Newcomer bander Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Netherlands
    NO

    NO

    NO

    NO

    NO
     
  6. way4bet
    OP

    Newcomer way4bet Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    bander did you already test it? what is your chip?
    You already read something about that? were?
    thank you.
     
  7. nash79

    Member nash79 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    way4bet, a dvd patched to work for waninkoko backup loader will not be seen in the Disk channel even if u have a modchip. I tried it and it says disk not reconized.
    I hope this helps.
     
  8. nash79

    Member nash79 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry guys - double post
     
  9. Centimetro

    Member Centimetro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks a lot for the test. Appreciate it.
     
  10. skunk123punk

    Newcomer skunk123punk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    From the Readme.txt included with backuplauncher

    "To create DVDs you need extractpartition. Don't call this patching. It only
    decrypts the DVD. Patching is done within backuplauncher"
     
  11. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    Why would you even bother 'patching' your discs if you have a chip... just burn and run.
     
  12. nash79

    Member nash79 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    He's just curious and I understand him. I got a modchip as soon as I got my WII, yet I was curious to see if it actually works. Moreover, dvd players cost $20. Do you think it was worth waiting 2 years to get DVDs playing on the WII (I say yes, but according to your line of thought, it's a NO).
     
  13. serpantor

    Newcomer serpantor Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    A friend of mine doesn't have a modded wii. I wanted to test out the backup loader on my wii that has a wiikey. When I try to run the backuploader I get a memory dump and the game doesn't run.

    I used a working lego bman iso, converted it using waninkoko's imagemaker..no dice with wiikey. The same iso did work on my buddies wii so I don't think that users with a wiikey will get backups running using this method.
     
  14. noobwarrior7

    Member noobwarrior7 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,594
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    so far not one report has come out about a patched game working on a correctly modded system, either through normal loading, gecko os, or either backup loading applications.

    check the wiki if you are curious why:
    http://maschell.de/mediawiki-1.6.10/index.php/Errors

    the gist is, chips create a DRE problem.
     
  15. Puffinz

    Newcomer Puffinz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Exactly ... I have a Wikey chipped Wii and have tried both loaders (just out of interest) and have not managed to get any past the -4100 error.
     

Share This Page