ROM Hack Question ACNL "error committing files to device" restoring with JKSV

Bokopoen

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2020
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
26
Country
United States
Hey everyone, I backed up a save for animal crossing using JKSV to test in a save editor. The editor completely recognized it and saved fine, however whenever I try to restore the save it just gives me that message then crashes to error 2168-0002. Any idea how to get the save to properly restore? Or What could be causing this?
 

Bokopoen

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2020
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
26
Country
United States
Send me your save, and i can check it on my switch
Damn it say I need 5 posts before I can send PMs or a link so I don't even know how I can send it

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Did you backup the device save, or did you backup something else like the BCAT save?
I believe it was the BCAT
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,138
Trophies
2
XP
16,279
Country
United States
Damn it say I need 5 posts before I can send PMs or a link so I don't even know how I can send it

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


I believe it was the BCAT
If you overwrite your device save with your BCAT, you lost your save. I hope you have a backup.
 

Bokopoen

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2020
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
26
Country
United States
What is a BCAT supposed to be?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I technically have a backup but it's on a unhacked console
 

Xjackio

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 21, 2020
Messages
1,693
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
1,038
Country
Mexico
Damn it say I need 5 posts before I can send PMs or a link so I don't even know how I can send it

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------
Use mediafire and post a link here.
About bcat not sure, just saw its used for game events or something like that

I believe it was the BCAT
 

Bokopoen

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2020
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
26
Country
United States
I can still see all the save information in the save editor so it would seem like all the parameters could just directly copy.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I seem to have about 5 now, so have a look http://sendanywhe.re/ZJABC80J
 

Xjackio

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 21, 2020
Messages
1,693
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
1,038
Country
Mexico
I can still see all the save information in the save editor so it would seem like all the parameters could just directly copy.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I seem to have about 5 now, so have a look http://sendanywhe.re/ZJABC80J
Tested the modded save and worked just fine.
Did you restore properly?
Not the bcat button, its the switch icon

What did you changed?
 

Attachments

  • 20201114_190558.jpg
    20201114_190558.jpg
    937.2 KB · Views: 149

Bokopoen

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2020
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
26
Country
United States
Tested the modded save and worked just fine.
Did you restore properly?
Not the bcat button, its the switch icon

What did you changed?

Wow it actually worked? I was supposed to be adding Raymond (Yea I know) but doesn't quite seem like anything has changed. How did you get it to work?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Oh the Switch icon, that might be it, I'll try that right now.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

The elephant was supposed to be him' but I likely didn't hit the right save button.
 

Xjackio

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 21, 2020
Messages
1,693
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
1,038
Country
Mexico
Wow it actually worked? I was supposed to be adding Raymond (Yea I know) but doesn't quite seem like anything has changed. How did you get it to work?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Oh the Switch icon, that might be it, I'll try that right now.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

The elephant was supposed to be him' but I likely didn't hit the right save button.
Just restored normally, want me to make a video?
 

Bokopoen

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2020
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
26
Country
United States
Oh thanks but no need you were right the first time, it was the switch icon. The game didn't show up there when I originally was making the back up so I thought that couldn't be it. Now that I selected that it has successfully loaded the game thanks for the help, problem seems to be that I just had no idea what BCAT is.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Now I just need to figure out how to actually get Raymond to load into the game.
 

Xjackio

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 21, 2020
Messages
1,693
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
1,038
Country
Mexico
Oh thanks but no need you were right the first time, it was the switch icon. The game didn't show up there when I originally was making the back up so I thought that couldn't be it. Now that I selected that it has successfully loaded the game thanks for the help, problem seems to be that I just had no idea what BCAT is.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Now I just need to figure out how to actually get Raymond to load into the game.
If you are using nhse just change a villager and save
Or use nhsespawner to do it with a cellphone
 

garzacorporations

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
65
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
203
Country
Spain
Anyone can get my 1.5.1 save updated to 1.6.0? My game is freezing every time it updates the save after 1.6.0 update and I needed to downgrade to 1.5.1 if I want to keep playing :'(
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: it's just part of life