Hardware 3DS browser capabilities

tj445

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
178
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
257
Country
For those who updated, post here what you noticed that works and that doesnt work.
For instance, It appears to have adobe flash but its outaded,
And you cannot scroll on pages that In-page scrollable content like google maps.
 

popoffka

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2009
Messages
341
Trophies
0
Location
Riga
Website
popoffka.ru
XP
411
Country
I've noticed an interesting feature: I've uploaded a photo to a website, and when viewed from a PC, this photo is a simple JPG, but when viewed in 3DS's browser, photo is 3D.
 

heartgold

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2009
Messages
4,378
Trophies
0
Location
London
Website
Visit site
XP
2,075
Country
Tanveer said:
i am on the 3ds now. this page sort of looks blurry. loading time is pretty bad. and dont think it has flash.
That's what happens when your not using the whole ram. It's probably using like 16MB of ram OUT OF 128MB.
 

tj445

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
178
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
257
Country
I was reading the messages that it gives to me when entering pages that need flash.
It says to upgrade rather than just download, but that might be a universal message for all incompatible versions/those who dont have it.

Another thing I noticed is that you cannot select the content of some drop down bars
 

Shiro09

AAI2 Localisation Team
Member
Joined
May 4, 2010
Messages
764
Trophies
0
Age
24
Website
Visit site
XP
184
Country
popoffka said:
I've noticed an interesting feature: I've uploaded a photo to a website, and when viewed from a PC, this photo is a simple JPG, but when viewed in 3DS's browser, photo is 3D.
Really? What image did you upload? Can you share the link please.
 

tajio

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Messages
406
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
228
Country
United States
The loading time is SLOOOW. Maybe because it's not using the whole RAM? Anyway I tried reading some manga, it's okay, though the loading times can make you frustrated at times.
 

chris888222

GBAtemp's Flygon Fan
Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2010
Messages
5,532
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
854
Country
Senegal
No lags and whatsoever for me!
smile.gif


Only no YouTube
frown.gif

Even on mobile site
 

KDH

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2007
Messages
241
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Kansas
Website
Visit site
XP
218
Country
United States
It can't load a page whose source (HTML/XML/etc. Code or Unformatted Text) is larger than 1 Megabyte, so reading walkthroughs while playing could be difficult for some games, especially RPGs.
 

L_o_N_e_R

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
412
Trophies
0
Age
29
Website
Visit site
XP
210
Country
United States
popoffka said:
I've noticed an interesting feature: I've uploaded a photo to a website, and when viewed from a PC, this photo is a simple JPG, but when viewed in 3DS's browser, photo is 3D.

if you look at a .mpo(or whatever it's called) in a browser then it looks like any old pic

its only on the 3ds it does 3d

loading times is decent for me

although to be honest i used the browser and then tried to play some AR games, it was slow as hell.. everything was choppy

is there a way to force close that thing?
 

MrShawnTRods

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2011
Messages
4,646
Trophies
0
XP
1,078
Country
United Kingdom
heartgold said:
Tanveer said:
i am on the 3ds now. this page sort of looks blurry. loading time is pretty bad. and dont think it has flash.
That's what happens when your not using the whole ram. It's probably using like 16MB of ram OUT OF 128MB.
Yeah probably..
The colours on the browser dont look.. well that "clear" either for some reason.
At least we have a browser now lol.
 

Fear Zoa

Still Alive
Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
1,437
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
Maryland
XP
485
Country
United States
It would be awesome if Nintendo gave us a standalone browser and then a lite version for surfing when a game is on standby
 

TheNikkoMan

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
99
Trophies
0
Location
Oslo
Website
Visit site
XP
34
Country
Norway
Who knows, maybe that's what it is doing currently.
If you have software running, it only uses half of the RAM (or 16MB idk).
But if you don't have software running, it uses all of it?
I don't see why not, if they didn't it'd be a massive waste of RAM.
 

DiscostewSM

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2009
Messages
5,456
Trophies
1
Location
Sacramento, California
Website
lazerlight.x10.mx
XP
4,713
Country
United States
Fear Zoa said:
It would be awesome if Nintendo gave us a standalone browser and then a lite version for surfing when a game is on standby

I really hope Nintendo does something like this. I won't always be playing a game when I want to surf the internet away from my home computer (and I don't have a laptop).
 

Slyakin

See ya suckers
Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2008
Messages
4,448
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Soviet Slyakin
XP
367
Country
United States
I can see why Nintendo is going light on the browser, considering it IS a multitask feature. I was just hoping that, in a future update, the browser will have two modes:

One being the same as the one we have now, that would run when you're playing a game.
Two, being a more powerful browser that ran if there is no game playing.
 

boktor666

Gbatemp's official Solar Boy™ Is Back!
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2010
Messages
807
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Holland, somewhere :D
XP
254
Country
Netherlands
looking good so far, tried it a while, pages do tend to be blurry, but that goes away after 2 secs. Its very graphic, the creators did put some work into it. GBAtemp seems to be working very good. Reply, and stuff works.
 

Windaga

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
1,136
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
New England
XP
1,820
Country
United States
All of the pages I've tried thus far load pretty nicely - certainly better than my PSP's browser. The interface is a LOT smoother, too, and the typing is loads faster. Looking good
smile.gif


And switching between the browser and a game is a lot faster than I thought it would be. I only have SSFIV3DE, so it's not really useful at this point, but I can't wait to try it out with Ocarina of Time.
 

popoffka

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2009
Messages
341
Trophies
0
Location
Riga
Website
popoffka.ru
XP
411
Country
6Toushiro9 said:
popoffka said:
I've noticed an interesting feature: I've uploaded a photo to a website, and when viewed from a PC, this photo is a simple JPG, but when viewed in 3DS's browser, photo is 3D.
Really? What image did you upload? Can you share the link please.

http://iichan.ru/vg/res/203564.html
One of them is a photo I took, other is a photo from Julie Watai's pack.


QUOTE(Tanveer @ Jun 7 2011, 03:39 PM)
The colours on the browser dont look.. well that "clear" either for some reason.
That's because the browser is rendering in 16-bit mode, because it's a little bit faster.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: Anyone that questions this will have their dick bitten off by our Chihuahua