TheCopulator

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Rom: Tales of Hearts DS Anime Edition

Hi,

I'm still very new to romhacking. I am currently working on Tales of Hearts DS to translate in English.
Most of the menu text is in arm9.bin. I first used CrystalTile2 to do the following steps
1) Open Crystaltile2, decompress Arm9.bin
2) Translate a string
3) Open Crystaltile2, replace arm9.bin with the compression option

These steps works most of the time. (Sometimes, I do get the infamus, file is too small blabla when compressing arm9.bin), but I had a lot of success with this method.
I was able to translate most of the main menu.

The thing is this method is relatively manual and I would like to have a one click batch file to create a new NDS rom with my arm9.bin translated to test it in Desmume.

I read a lot of different romhacking sites and found out that the arm9.bin file used some kind of BLZ compression than be compress/decompressed using CUE's tool.
So what I did is

1) Unpack the original nds rom using ndstool in a folder
2) Decompress arm9.bin using Cue's tool
blz -d arm9.bin
3)Translate a string
4) Recompress using cue's tool
blz -en9 arm9.bin
5) Create the new rom using ndstool

When I do these steps, the game stays on a black screen when I open it. I'm not even able to see the Namcobandai title.

- Decompresing arm9.bin using Cue's tool works perfectly.
- I already did some test and I'm able to use desmume to open the memory view, find my string and hex edit and this works
- When I say translate a string in my steps, I'm basically hex editing the file with hxd, not updating any pointers and padding with 00s

What I also tried:

1) Take arm9.bin from Tinke
2) Decompress arm9.bin using Cue's tool
blz -d arm9.bin
3)Translate a string
4) Recompress using cue's tool
blz -en9 arm9.bin
5) Replace the file in Tinke and save the rom