Rewiring Wii console buttons

Sharq

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Afghanistan
Hi!

I'm working on a peculiar project. I'm replacing the broken optical drive of a CRT with a Wii console and I would like to know if it's possible to rewire the front buttons of the CRT to function as Wii buttons (namely the stop -> power, play -> reset, open/close -> eject buttons from the CRT to the Wii) or if there are any other methods I can go about to achieve my desired outcome.

I'm new to the hobby so any beginner advice in general for this would be greatly appreciated! I've never soldered anything before, I'm going to practice on scrap PCB before I try this, if it's possible to do.

CRT PCB side A

CRT PCB side B
Wii console

Thanks!

Reactions: newo

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Possible? Plenty of people have done things like it.
In this case. Your main trouble will be the type of switch used.
Broadly speaking there are two types of momentary switch (as opposed to latching switch that needs another press/release to change, think most household light switches), that being
Push to Make aka PTM
Push to Break aka PTB

PTM makes a circuit, e.g. in your basic battery, lightbulb, switch, wires affair the switch gets pressed and while it is held the light turns on as current is allowed to flow.
PTB breaks a circuit, e.g. in said typical circuit the lightbulb will be on until such a time as the switch is pressed, a which point there is a break in the wires made by the switch and the light turns off.

The vast majority of the time such things will be PTM switches but there are occasions otherwise. You could buy the other type (finding ones that fit perfectly might be tricky, however you presumable are comfortable working with physical things so could overcome that if necessary), and there are circuits that you could do to bypass but let's skip that for now.