Hacking [Release] rxTools - Roxas75 3DS Toolkit [fw 2.0 - 9.2]

Status
Not open for further replies.

Apache Thunder

I have cameras in your head!
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
4,452
Trophies
3
Age
36
Location
Levelland, Texas
Website
www.mariopc.co.nr
XP
6,853
Country
United States
MinGW needs to be reordered so it's first in your path. Your Path looks to be missing some needed paths as well.

Here's what mine looks like: (everything after ImageMagick is windows related and not relevent to our dev environment)

Code:
C:\MinGW\bin;c:\devkitPro\msys\bin;C:\devkitPro\devkitARM\bin\;C:\devkitPro\devkitARM\arm-none-eabi\bin\;C:\Python27\;C:\Program Files (x86)\ImageMagick-6.9.1-Q16

That's how my path is setup and rxTools compiles fine for me. Also you may need to restart your computer before changes to PATH string work correctly.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Compiling source for me crashes attempting to build msethax.

error: 'readFirmware' was not declared in this scope
readFirmware(0,workbuffer,42);
^
d:/Downloads/rxTools-master_2/rxTools-master/msethax/rxinstaller/source/main.cpp
error: 'writeFirmware' was not declared in this scope
int ret = writeFirmware(userSettingsOffset,workbuffer,512);
^
make[3]: *** [main.o] Error 1
rm drunkenlogo.s
make[2]: *** [build] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/d/Downloads/rxTools-master_2/rxTools-master/msethax
/rxinstaller'
 

duke_srg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
1,862
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
Moscow
XP
807
Country
Serbia, Republic of
MinGW needs to be reordered so it's first in your path. Here's what mine looks like:
Actually devkitARM path is no more needed since all makefiles now have a DEVKITARM variable check :)

@gunner007
you forgot libnds
Get devkitPRO downloader and install devkitARM with all suboptions. THIS IS LISTED IN Readme.md!
 

Jaitsu

Yet Another GBATemp Furry
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2015
Messages
152
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
206
Country
United States
Compiling source for me crashes attempting to build msethax.

error: 'readFirmware' was not declared in this scope
readFirmware(0,workbuffer,42);
^
d:/Downloads/rxTools-master_2/rxTools-master/msethax/rxinstaller/source/main.cpp
error: 'writeFirmware' was not declared in this scope
int ret = writeFirmware(userSettingsOffset,workbuffer,512);
^
make[3]: *** [main.o] Error 1
rm drunkenlogo.s
make[2]: *** [build] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/d/Downloads/rxTools-master_2/rxTools-master/msethax
/rxinstaller'

I had this issue, it's caused by an outdated libnds. Uninstall and then reinstall devkitARM, and make sure you have libnds checked in the installer.
 

megazero1x1

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2011
Messages
431
Trophies
1
XP
363
Country
United States
anyone knows how to fix this error while compiling ?
Code:
D:\rxTools-master>make
make[1]: Entering directory `/d/rxTools-master/rxtools'
make[1]: ../tools/font_tool: Command not found
make[1]: *** [font.dat] Error 127
make[1]: Leaving directory `/d/rxTools-master/rxtools'
make: *** [rxtools/rxtools.bin] Error 2

D:\rxTools-master>
 

Tjessx

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2014
Messages
1,160
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
952
Country
Belgium
Actually devkitARM path is no more needed since all makefiles now have a DEVKITARM variable check :)
EDIT: Tried to compile without the path set, it asked me to set the path.
so i set the path, and it worked then
 

Jaitsu

Yet Another GBATemp Furry
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2015
Messages
152
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
206
Country
United States
anyone knows how to fix this error while compiling ?
Code:
D:\rxTools-master>make
make[1]: Entering directory `/d/rxTools-master/rxtools'
make[1]: ../tools/font_tool: Command not found
make[1]: *** [font.dat] Error 127
make[1]: Leaving directory `/d/rxTools-master/rxtools'
make: *** [rxtools/rxtools.bin] Error 2

D:\rxTools-master>

That particular commit is missing the font_tool directory/what belongs in it, I believe. Not every commit is gonna compile.
 

duke_srg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
1,862
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
Moscow
XP
807
Country
Serbia, Republic of
EDIT: Tried to compile without the path set, it asked me to set the path.
so i set the path, and it worked then
DEVKITPRO and DEVKITARM variables are needed, but not path for any devkitarm
 

Rhymekaze

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 4, 2015
Messages
44
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
57
Country
United States
fd4d385d3e.png

Bumped MinGW to the top, caught some errors but then it goes through the whole process shown in my gif and stops at the same place, trying to open some .elf. This happens even if I empty the folder and give it a clean source from the git.
 

megazero1x1

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2011
Messages
431
Trophies
1
XP
363
Country
United States
ok I got rxtools to compile finally !
It seems the error i was getting was because of an outdated source i was using. (24hrs outdated).

Thank you everyone who helped me :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: coolfuze

Apache Thunder

I have cameras in your head!
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
4,452
Trophies
3
Age
36
Location
Levelland, Texas
Website
www.mariopc.co.nr
XP
6,853
Country
United States
I have UAC disabled. Perhaps it's getting in the way in your case. Make sure the command prompt you have open is run as administrator. Also uninstall MinGW and DevKitArm and reinstall them.
 

Jaitsu

Yet Another GBATemp Furry
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2015
Messages
152
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
206
Country
United States
fd4d385d3e.png

Bumped MinGW to the top, caught some errors but then it goes through the whole process shown in my gif and stops at the same place, trying to open some .elf. This happens even if I empty the folder and give it a clean source from the git.

Dumb as it sounds, [.exe is actually part of MSYS. Make sure your MinGW/msys/1.0/bin/ directory is on your Path.
 

Rhymekaze

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 4, 2015
Messages
44
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
57
Country
United States
Uninstalled everything, restarted, reinstalled, deleted and re extracted a clean release source, ran as admin, still hangs at the same .elf bit..

I was! I completely missed the arm-none-eabi\bin post. Still hangs though.

Dumb as it sounds, [.exe is actually part of MSYS. Make sure your MinGW/msys/1.0/bin/ directory is on your Path.

Yup, it's there.
64b0e452e5.png

Then %DEVKITPRO% and %DEVKITARM% are set independently, but it still doesn't work.

What are the exact steps I need to follow to get this to function if I uninstall everything except VB and Python (which i had installed prior anyway)?
 
Last edited by Rhymekaze,

b1l1s

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
151
Trophies
0
XP
171
Country
Malaysia
Yup, it's there.

It's not there. Just because the path is similar doesn't mean it's the right folder. Go find out where your MingW is actually installed. Check msys/bin in that dir. Does it have all the binaries needed(rm, [, cp etc)? That's the one you want in your path.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Supposed to do anything with the theme folder? Compiled rxtool.dat succesfully, but just hangs at the moment booting through mset.
 

Jaitsu

Yet Another GBATemp Furry
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2015
Messages
152
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
206
Country
United States
Supposed to do anything with the theme folder? Compiled rxtool.dat succesfully, but just hangs at the moment booting through mset.

If you have the latest revision: You need ImageMagick, specifically convert.exe and delegates.txt (and the DLLs if you use the dll version). Put all of those in the "theme" directory in the source folder alongside all the images, then run make in the theme folder. Take all the .bin files you get, and copy them to your SD card under rxTools/Theme/0/. That's the procedure right now, at least.

The reason make doesn't fail WITHOUT the ImageMagick files in the folder is because Windows has a "convert.exe" of its own (totally different), and it gets used if you don't have imagemagick's convert.exe in the directory, so it fails silently.

To the devs: I read over ImageMagick's license. It's legal for you to include convert.exe (with proper attribution), is it not? Would probably be a good idea to avoid the confusion of silently failed builds.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    But can it completely remove RealPlayer? Lol jk
    +3
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I remember at one point it being pretty much labeled as malware lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I think my favorite one was that dancing purple gorilla... I uninstalled that thing from sooo many machine people would be like "Why is my computer so slow?" lol because this thing is using like 30% of your system resources.....
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    This one lady... her son kept installing Kazaa... OK no problem the issue is he would download DBZ movies and they where amazing usually like 2-8KB in size lol can't remember how many times I had to format and reinstall windows over his stupidity. I even explained to him about file sizes multiple times...
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    yeah Bonzi buddy was malware sort of... It was borderline lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    At minimum it was nothing anyone should have ever installed lol
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @BigOnYa, RealPlayer is spyware too.
    +2
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Psionic Roshambo, Yeah, BonziBuddy was both spyware and ad-ware. It collected children's personal information without consent as well as display fake Windows popups.
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ, atleast bonzi got discontinued
    +2
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Xdqwerty, The people who created Bonzi now owns a company called 2KDirect; an advertising firm. https://www.ipromote.com/
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ, atleast they get slightly cleaner money
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    guys, hot take
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    So Bonzi buddy was an evil version of Alexa lol
    +2
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    the legal drinking age here in the US is 21, as some of you may know, but i think either it should be 18 or the age you're an adult should be 21.
    +2
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    and i know what you may be thinking, "why become an adult at 21? doesn't that mean that banging an 18 year old would be illegal?"
    first of all, being in a relationship with someone who's 18 is technically ok, as long as it started when they were 18, but the age gap is still weird depending on how old you are. besides, the age of consent differs between different states
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    also my reasoning for adult age being 21 is because the reason that's the drinking (and now smoking) age is because it "gives them more time to think rationally and not drive drunk"
    so you should have that extra time to mature and think rationally before going to serve in the military or vote
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    tl;dr the "adult" age and the legal drinking age (and voting age) here in the US should be the same
    +3
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It's all good no one pays attention to the law anyway lol
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    What about making kids wait till 18 or 21 to drive? And yea is messed up, you can join army and die for your country at age 18, but you can't drink alcohol or smoke a cig til 21, is ridiculous
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    If someone is in the military they should be allowed to smoke and drink at 18.... Would help drive recruitment lol
    +1
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: If someone is in the military they should be allowed to smoke and drink at 18.... Would help... +1