Feedback Hardware PS1/2 OPL stuttering on HDD loaded games, some display double. Was working fine before

RodeenPT

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Portugal
Hello there.

I've been using FMCB for a few years. The 500GB sata HDD I'm using never had any problems, neither did the 3rd party network sata-to-PS2 adapter. Yet, I decided to add a new game that just got translated (normally I only add new games via USB, cuz I think removing the HDD from the PS2 is too risky) and I put it on my docking station... add via WinHiip like normal, everything went fine.

Then when I try loading games, they all stutter during cutscenes. This was completely fine before, it never stuttered. Most also stutter a bit during gameplay. And a few are even not displaying correctly like ZOE here which horizontally doubles the game's visuals.

I tried different versions of OPL. I tried different DMA modes. Nothing seems to fix it.

Could it be that my HDD was slightly damaged when I put it in the docking station? It's weird cuz if so, it only affected the reading speed as all the data is absolutely fine. Or could it be that the adapter was damaged? I don't see why it would be. I remmember I had one that I ended up giving to a friend of mine which literally lost part of the plastic in the connecting area, yet it still worked perfectly. The one I'm using now is perfectly intact. And since it was working 100% fine before... It's a hard to think that's what got damaged.

View attachment zoe opl bs.jpg
Some games display wrong. Doubling the image horizontally. And most games stutter, especially in cutscenes.

I really can't find any cause and effect. I'm really out of my depth here.

I may buy a new HDD on monday and use the docking station with WinHiip's fucntion to clone the drive's data and structure (as it seems to be okay). I think the idea that all my ISO's went slightly bad is kinda out the door I think.