OP
Newcomer
Trophies
Website
ocfrom.neocities.org
XP
Country
United States
Recently, I've started taking an interest in music equipment. Mostly electronic stuff like samplers, drum machines, synthesizers, etc. I'm thinking of buying an MPC1000 once I find one at a good price. What about your thoughts on music equipment of the sorts?

GeekyGuy

Professional loafer
Former Staff
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Recently, I've started taking an interest in music equipment. Mostly electronic stuff like samplers, drum machines, synthesizers, etc. I'm thinking of buying an MPC1000 once I find one at a good price. What about your thoughts on music equipment of the sorts?
Curious why you're interested in hardware, considering the incredible advances in the actual electronic processes (plugins, etc.)?

I'm a guitarist, and as soon as MIDI became a thing (I think back in the late 70s/early 80s), my older brother had a friend with a 4-track cassette recorder and small MIDI keyboard. I think I was about 11 (maybe as old as 13 -- it's been a long time), but from that time on I took a great interest in electronics to be used with music because it had the promise of allowing me execute on my own large musical productions.

Later, I focused on solely acoustic guitar, but being on medical leave again, I've been trying to use my time wisely (to keep from going insane with boredom and anxiety) by recording. I'm having to relearn everything, having not done it for almost 20 years. But man, the advancements are incredible with regards to sound quality and mechanics.

I can understand if there's perhaps something from this machine you can achieve that you simply can't with a plugin, but if not, why not focus that currency on desktop software/hardware and utility gear like audio interfaces, condenser mics, etc.?

Atomyiik

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
Website
ocfrom.neocities.org
XP
Country
United States