Hacking I'm thinking of getting (got) a PSP, but......

Rayder

Mostly lurking lately....
OP
Former Staff
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
...how can I be sure I get one that can definitely be hacked to play PSP/PS1 backups? (homebrew is actually secondary to my purposes at this point) The local Gamestop's around me all say they have PSP 1/2/3000's and the GO for sale used and/or refurbished, but which one should I get? I know the 1000 is the most easily hacked, but the 2/3000's have the more preferred hardware......brighter screens with better refresh rates, more/faster memory, etc. For my particular use, even the GO could be a possibility, it if can be fully hacked. The way I intend to use it, the UMD drive would be mostly useless anyway.
smileipb2.png

Yeah, I'm a total PSP noob. I've only ever played Tekken 6 on a PSP once. But anyone here that knows me knows I won't stay a noob for long. I learn that which interests me pretty quickly.
cool.gif

On the 2000's, is there a way to tell if it has the older or newer motherboard in it just by looking at the unit?

Can the 3000 and GO be fully hacked without it being that half-byte loader deal that you have to initiate every time you boot?

What FW revision should I stay at or under to improve my chance of success in hacking it? (I do know how to check what FW a PSP is currently running)

As a totally new potential PSP owner, what accessories would I need to get in order to hack it? Anything beyond memory carts and maybe a pandora battery? I assume the PSP comes with all the cables I'd need to hook it to a PC, right?

If I buy a used/refurb unit, what things should I watch out for that could be wrong with a used PSP that may not be as obvious as things like dead pixels and scratches?

Does hacking the PSP negate my ability to use PSN......not for online gaming (I don't care about that), but for their other services?