Hardware How to make my own GC-to-PC USB adapter?

Metoroid0

Samus Aran
OP
Trophies
Website
www.metroidwiki.org
XP
Country
Japan
I have one GC joypad but i want to make it play on PC via USB port.

Is there some EASIER than this one?? http://www.raphnet.net/electronique/gc_n64_usb/index_en.php

I mean, this is way to complicated for me, but i know how to solder wires and all, but i'm not a expert or something..but something easier i could do...

I dont want to replace GC's original cable, i have GC console i dont need, so i could use joypad ports as bridge for USB cable :)

I was thinking of making something like this (super simple)
gc_n64_usb2.jpeg

Can i get your help? :D

qwertymodo

Trophies
Website
qwertymodo.com
XP
Country
United States
The raphnet adapters are pretty darn simple if you can solder. Buy the pre-built board, solder 9 wires to the pads on the board, and you're done. It's not going to get much easier than that.

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Short version- no.

Longer version. Some controllers are USB, some are USB in all but port shape, some are otherwise known protocols (bluetooth or 360's thing when done right) and others are entirely custom. The GC was entirely custom meaning you need some logic somewhere. If you are dead set against tearing into the controller it gets more tricky still, by the way I do not believe there is anything at the connector end of the cable so you can slice into the cable and stick in a few wires to do what you like with.

I am afraid I do not know what a sacrificial gamecube will get you beyond a way to have a female port.

Fat D

Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
You will not be getting anywhere without an intelligent converter (the protocol is fairly unique), so if you cannot build a circuit like the one by Raphaël, you are pretty much out of luck if you do not want to purchase any pre-built parts (such as a miniature version of his circuit you could solder in yourself).