Hardware GPU Cooling

Durelle

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Im a very adept computer builder been doing it for years now, but theres alwais something i avoided which was Liquid Cooling, or even GPU modifications for 3rd party cooling.

my Gigabit 280x (windforce edition) is sooooo loud, so im looking into other options since destiny 2 is comming out soon. Is it hard to get a rad for it, or should i just get another fan.

migles

All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
Trophies
XP
Country
China
EKWB sells kits to install on GPUs
there is also AIO like the corsair series which you can install...
i don't believe you can do pretty much... i am not aware that aftermarket GPU cooling solutions exist except for the liquid cooling options

PS: for that price of thoose kits, maybe it's time to upgrade?

Last edited by migles,

Durelle

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
That's what I'm trying to avoid. I found a kit for 150$ but I'm wondering if it's worth it. My gpu was always loud but a upgrade would be 600$+. And the 280x runs fine on games I play. Those options you mentioned do you have links to where they sell them or information about the product. Things are usually a little more expensive here in Canada

Armadillo

Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
For third party cooling for a 280X, you basically have the choice of:

Artic cooling.
https://www.arctic.ac/eu_en/products/cooling/vga.html.
Do both liquid cooling and air cooling. Neither options are very cheap.

NZXT G12 adapter
https://www.nzxt.com/products/kraken-g12-black + one of the Kraken AIO. Again, not a cheap option.

EKWB stuff is for proper custom loops, so that's out. Corsair do conversion kits for their AIO coolers, but you need the blower fan from a reference design card and don't think Corsair make a kit for the 280X anyway, so they are out as well.

All options are generally based on reference pcb design, so if Gigabyte has done any weird shit with a custom pcb, you might be out of luck.