ROM Hack GhostPatcher - Easily patch GBA VC .cias to remove ghosting and restore original colors

Substance12

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2015
Messages
562
Trophies
0
XP
549
Country
Argentina
This thread explains a method to fix ghosting and dark colours in GBA VC games:

https://gbatemp.net/threads/restoring-original-colors-to-gba-vc.427642/

Before vs After:
wg7cCfG.png

5rJUCVA.png


The process is a bit lengthy though and requires hex editing, or generating a footer for GBA games. I made a script that should make the process a ton faster and easier, only requiring you to provide an unencrypted CIA.

Requirements:
  • A Windows, Linux or OS X 64-bit installation. I might provide 32-bit support in the future.
  • A Python version 3 installation.
  • A decrypted CIA of the game you want to patch. If it's encrypted, you'll get an "Unknown file" error.
To apply the patch, simply open a command prompt, cd to the folder where you put the script, and run it like this:

Code:
patch.py /path/to/your/game.cia

Make sure you have the "bin" folder in the same folder than patch.py!

You'll find the patched .cia in the output folder. Make sure to back up your GBA saves before installing the .cia, because if an unpatched version of the game was previously installed, it's saves will be lost.

WARNING:
  • This was not tested on OS X! It should probably work without issues, though.
  • This patch may cause issues in some specific games. Make sure you always keep the original CIA just in case.

Download!

Credits:
  • profi2000 for ctrtool and makerom
  • dnasdw for 3dstool
  • SuperrSonic for the hex patch
  • AnalogMan for the Python script that patched code.bin
 
Last edited by Substance12,

Darukeru

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2016
Messages
143
Trophies
0
Location
Yann
XP
982
Country
Mexico
Umm... how do I know if it worked? Do I need the bin folder too? I run it but all I see is this message and it moves the CIA to a new 'tmp' folder .-.

upload_2017-1-11_13-35-10.png

Edit: Forget it, the bin folder is necessary, it worked! :)
 
Last edited by Darukeru,

Substance12

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2015
Messages
562
Trophies
0
XP
549
Country
Argentina
Umm... how do I know if it worked? Do I need the bin folder too? I run it but all I see is this message and it moves the CIA to a new 'tmp' folder .-.


Edit: Forget it, the bin folder is needed, it worked! :)

Great to hear! Maybe I should have mentioned that the bin folder is needed :lol:
 
  • Like
Reactions: Darukeru

Eastonator12

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2016
Messages
630
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
999
Country
United States
Umm... how do I know if it worked? Do I need the bin folder too? I run it but all I see is this message and it moves the CIA to a new 'tmp' folder .-.


Edit: Forget it, the bin folder is necessary, it worked! :)
If you don't mind me asking, what version of Linux is that you're using? I'm interested in using it
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,333
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
13,910
Country
Norway
Anyone willing to help a newbie who doesn't know how to use python :P
If you're on Windows the easiest way is by putting the script in the Python directory where python.exe is located and opening a command prompt, using cd "C:\path\to\python" to get to the Python directory, then use the command described in the first post but add python.exe followed by a space in front of it so it becomes python.exe patch.py "c:\path\to\game.cia"
Instead of typing the cia path manually you can drag and drop the file onto the command prompt window to autofill the path. This probably also works for the cd command by drag&dropping the Python directory.
Make sure you use Python 3.x and not 2.x since this particular script needs it.
 

KyleWest

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Location
Universe 10 Sacred World of the Kai
XP
269
Country
United States
If you're on Windows the easiest way is by putting the script in the Python directory where python.exe is located and opening a command prompt, using cd "C:\path\to\python" to get to the Python directory, then use the command described in the first post but add python.exe followed by a space in front of it so it becomes python.exe patch.py "c:\path\to\game.cia"
Instead of typing the cia path manually you can drag and drop the file onto the command prompt window to autofill the path. This probably also works for the cd command by drag&dropping the Python directory.
Make sure you use Python 3.x and not 2.x since this particular script needs it.
Once I run the command, where do I find the new .cia file? Or is my current one supposed to be overwritten
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I kept thinking jaws was gonna come up and attack
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Jaws is on a diet
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Damn power went out
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Ok xdqwerty, your little bro prob tripped On the cord and unplugged you
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ya I'm afraid of the dark hug me
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Grab and hold close your AncientBoi doll.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Damn didn't charge my external battery either
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Take the batteries out of your SuperStabber3000... Or is it gas powered?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I stole batteries from your black mamba
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    My frozen food better hold up for an hour I know that
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Or else gonna be a big lunch and dinner tomorrow.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Did you pay your power bill? Or give all yo money to my wife, again.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Oh good the estimated time is the same exact time they just said
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Load up your pc and monitor, and head to a McDonalds dining room, they have free WiFi
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Sir please watch your porn in the bathroom
    +2
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    No sir we can not sell you anymore apple pies, after what you did with the last one.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    We ran out
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    for your life
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    My life has no value my fat ass is staying right here
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Nearly 4 hours without power :(
  • Veho @ Veho:
    SO POWERLESS
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Tell Kanye I need power
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Tell Kanye I need power