GameMaker Studio (help???)

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by BlueFox gui, Jan 3, 2017.

Jan 3, 2017
  1. BlueFox gui
    OP

    Member BlueFox gui GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,062
    Location:
    NAS TERRAS DE HUE BR
    Country:
    Brazil
    So, i downloaded game maker studio with crack because i don't have money to buy it XD, and doing some tests the Steam app opens alone and started to download game maker as if i had bought it, i turn off the WI FI at after finish the download, and the app is working fine but, can i get in any trouble with that?
     
  2. TehCupcakes

    Member TehCupcakes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    238
    Country:
    United States
    Pirating software always has an inherent risk. Aside from that, I don't think GM:S (a product which I personally own) is any different from your average program. If you have an online connection, there is always the chance of the program sending information back to Yoyogames and potentially revealing your IP and that you are using a cracked version. However, there's not much they can really do about it, as GM:S can be used entirely offline, it's not like they can ban you (unless you also have a legitimate YYG account, but that still wouldn't stop you from using the cracked copy.)

    So to put it simply, no, there's nothing specific about GM:S to "get in trouble" with... However, piracy is illegal in most countries and has legal ramifications if you ever give a company reason to pursue you. (E.g. Heavily profiting off of pirated software.) Therefore, I certainly wouldn't recommend selling a game without paying for a legitimate license, but using it for your own evaluation probably won't raise any flags.

    This does not an endorsement. Just an FYI.
     
    gnmmarechal likes this.
  3. Joom

    Member Joom  ❤❤❤

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,851
    Country:
    United States
    You can always prevent it from making any calls to home with a good firewall or your hosts file. This is piracy 101.
     
    gnmmarechal likes this.
  4. x65943

    Member x65943 Hobby Artist

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2,248
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Those game making programs are some of the most pirated there are (because of the ridiculous price).

    That being said, these companies aren't known to have a very long legal arm. I've never heard of them going after anyone (especially in Brazil).

    But, did you say it's actually installing from Steam's servers?

    If Steam can detect that, I'm sure they would be upset about it.
     
  5. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,444
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    TheVinAnator and gnmmarechal like this.
  6. Issac

    Global Moderator Issac oh!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,729
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    You should have taken the chance to get it from the Humble Bundle a few months ago, for a dollar. :P
     
  7. Joom

    Member Joom  ❤❤❤

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,851
    Country:
    United States
    Nah. Circumventing Steam with memory patches has been a thing for a decade or so (see Green Luma, Pacsteam, etc.). They just download the content from their CDN but don't give you a proper license to use the software, so it still has to be cracked (or you have to play on cracked servers).
     
    Last edited by Joom, Jan 5, 2017
    x65943 likes this.
  8. BlueFox gui
    OP

    Member BlueFox gui GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,062
    Location:
    NAS TERRAS DE HUE BR
    Country:
    Brazil
    oh thanks now i'm relieved XD
    but i have the professional files from the cracked version, it possible to just put the files of professional version on the free version?
     
  9. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,444
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    As somebody who has bought the professional version, I see no reason to get it, not to mention going through the hassle of making a frankenstein monster out of a legitimate and pirated version. I don't think you can even do that.
    I'd rather pirate Studio 2 whenever that comes out.
     
  10. sarkwalvein

    Member sarkwalvein GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,307
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Argentina
  11. BlueFox gui
    OP

    Member BlueFox gui GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,062
    Location:
    NAS TERRAS DE HUE BR
    Country:
    Brazil
    why? it will be for free too?
     
  12. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,444
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Nah, subscription based payment from what I've heard. It's a shame really, with all the other major game engines being free (Unreal Engine, Unity, Source etc.).
     
  13. CayFun

    Newcomer CayFun Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Seems Interesting.
     

Share This Page