Edit DS Firmware Settings

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Isle41, Dec 22, 2012.

Dec 22, 2012

Edit DS Firmware Settings by Isle41 at 10:35 PM (891 Views / 0 Likes) 7 Comments

    • Newcomer

    Isle41 Pedophile

    Member Since:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Message Count:
    96
    Country:
    Denmark
    I'm not sure if something like this exists, I want to edit my own firmware on a real DS.
    Namely the name. I know it's pointless, but I'm curious if there's a way to force a name.
    • Reporter

    FAST6191 Techromancer

    Member Since:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Message Count:
    17,369
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am not sure I follow- the basic DS menu should handle most editing and should you have to force something you have a lot more problems on your hands (I don't think there are any forbidden names). All most programs will ever touch is wifi settings though you might look at DSOrganize (I am pretty sure it only had wifi plus some bonus wifi settings storage but it has been years).
    If you are thinking about doing it on a per game basis then it is probably easier to make a cheat to do it (although anything can theoretically access the firmware a lot of the time the settings of it will be copied to memory at boot and operated on from there- it is how a lot of the language forcing cheats work).

    If you have a file you dumped and want to do it on a PC then Crystaltile2 will be able to handle it (various places but under the tools pulldown menu is the main one). That said it is usually just as easy to click "config- firmware settings" on desmume.
    • Newcomer

    Isle41 Pedophile

    Member Since:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Message Count:
    96
    Country:
    Denmark
    I don't really need it for a game. I want to however use more characters than what the ds keyboard is giving me.

    Hmm.... And once I edit these then what would I do?
    • Reporter

    FAST6191 Techromancer

    Member Since:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Message Count:
    17,369
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you mean you want the extra characters in your language ( ØæÅ?) then it is not going to happen I am afraid and even if you somehow managed it then it would only be for your DS and I would be not surprised in the slightest to see all manner of games crash and start crying should they have to try handling it- the DS firmware has a font built in and that is what it uses for firmware things. Games can (and often do) have other fonts but should something be wrong from the firmware level then things get can get just as messy.

    As for the second question actually I am not sure what there is for a soft DS firmware flash (hardware is sorted by ppflash- http://www.darkfader.net/ds/ ) as nobody in the general public as it were really ever had cause to do it*- the obvious thing to look at would be either the flashme installer or the FWNitro installer to see if you could piggyback onto that but I am not sure what goes there.

    *if you were developing a firmware (to my knowledge all of three different ones have ever been made) then you already know more than is necessary and the only other thing would have been parasyte to work around Nintendo banning him.
    • Member

    KazoWAR New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,262
    Location:
    Eloise
    Country:
    United States
    I think he wanted to make a 10 character name vs a 5 character name. I guess it could be possible if you knew what address to write the data to and if it even writable or it will even save I don't know. then there is also the risks of the ds no longer booting up because of some checksum calculation failure or some kind of buffer overflow caused by the extra long sting.
    • Newcomer

    Isle41 Pedophile

    Member Since:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Message Count:
    96
    Country:
    Denmark
    Sorry, haven't quite had time for a response XP.

    I'm looking to use already built in symbols, not invent a new font for new symbols.
    Some symbols that aren't on the keyboard are some by Pictochat and the like (which have strangely been included in every console since the DS).

    Hmm.............. did a google search for ds soft flash and the like, nothing quite came up. Sadly, I'm not in the mood for a hardware mod right now XP

    The only idea I can think of is to make a code for firmware.nds..............

    Checksum failures........ never thought about that.
    Last edited by Isle41, Dec 31, 2012
    • Reporter

    FAST6191 Techromancer

    Member Since:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Message Count:
    17,369
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As for the soft flash I forgot about NoFlashMe (should be available from http://home.comcast.net/~olimar/flashme/ )- it should have a firmware inbuilt which you can then piggyback on (I recall some people trying things there one day) rather than the others which are patching style programs.

    Characters in the encoding but not in the keyboard (I assume- I did not see any immediately obvious differences though I did not look hard).... were this a ROM hack I would say carry on but for a firmware hack I have so many more reservations.
    • Member

    Technicmaster0 New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Message Count:
    1,778
    Country:
    Germany
    The website has a download of the firmware.nds (you have to delete the last folder in the file tree and select the "DS stuff" folder. There you can select "DS Firmware".

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page