Downgrade 3DS Firmware?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by EvilMakiPR, Mar 7, 2014.

Mar 7, 2014

Downgrade 3DS Firmware? by EvilMakiPR at 6:26 PM (52,335 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. EvilMakiPR

    Member EvilMakiPR GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,371
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    I've been hearing/reading about some 3DS Downgrade Service. Is that true? I mean like if I'm on the latest Firmware I can Downgrade to 4.5 and be Gateway Compatible? How? Where? Any help?
     


  2. gamesquest1

    Member gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    10,309
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nope, you can only "downgrade" if you already dumped your nand from when it was a lower version
     
  3. tatripp

    Member tatripp GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Country:
    United States
    I'm almost certain that you would have had to backed up your nand before updating past 4.5. If you don't know what that means and you have already updated, then it is too late.
     
  4. Avalynn

    Member Avalynn I'm here to help poeple out as I can.

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    400
    Location:
    Mass
    Country:
    United States
    From what I understand, in order to downgrade you would need a backup made of your system at the version you want to downgrade to, i.e. 4.5.0. Each system is uniquely encrypted so backups are only good for the system it came from. If you are on 7.1.0 and have a backup at 4.5.0 you can downgrade but if you don't have a back up you are out of luck for now.
     
  5. EvilMakiPR

    Member EvilMakiPR GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,371
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    No, no I've been reading about a Mod that let the guy Downgrade the 3DS

    So How I do that Backup?
     
  6. Avalynn

    Member Avalynn I'm here to help poeple out as I can.

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    400
    Location:
    Mass
    Country:
    United States
    If you would be so kind into sharing this article you have been reading it would help. From what I know there is no downgrading if you don't already posses a backup prior to upgrading.
     
  7. gamesquest1

    Member gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    10,309
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    links?
    the only downgrade method i have seen is only if you have an existing dump from 4.x (well you could downgrade to whatever firmware you want if you had the relevant nand dump from your specific console)

    i seen a few people did the hardware dump from 5.x-6.x before updating to 7.x so they can downgrade if ever a new exploit is released....but the only useful purpose atm is downgrading to 4.x
     
  8. EvilMakiPR

    Member EvilMakiPR GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,371
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
  9. Devrim

    Newcomer Devrim Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Would it be possible to force/exploit the 3DS to update to 4.5 based on old game carts? Are the full firmware updates stored on them?
     
  10. Reecey

    Member Reecey Mario 64 (favorite game of all time)

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,039
    Location:
    At Home :)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just a point if you have your back up Nand from one 4.5.0 3DS could you then use it too downgrade another 3DS or not or does that back up Nand only work with that 3DS?
     
  11. Avalynn

    Member Avalynn I'm here to help poeple out as I can.

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    400
    Location:
    Mass
    Country:
    United States
    No unfortunately for the time being they are unique to each system, again each system is uniquely encrypted.
     
  12. gamesquest1

    Member gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    10,309
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah they said they had an existing dump.....case closed :P
     
    EvilMakiPR likes this.
  13. Reecey

    Member Reecey Mario 64 (favorite game of all time)

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,039
    Location:
    At Home :)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Shame, maybe GW might get to that point could be well worthy in a future update.
     
  14. Qtis

    Reporter Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor

    pip
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,645
    Location:
    The Forge
    Country:
    Antarctica
    As long as the firmware encryption isn't cracked, there is no way to downgrade without an original backup of the system. If you happen to have a 4.x or previous fw dump, you can get your console compatible with gateway. Otherwise it's a case of buying a new 3ds with compatible firmware and/or replacing your internal hardware with compatible hardware (I.e. a console with pre-5.x firmware still installed).
     
  15. JaapDaniels

    Member JaapDaniels GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    Netherlands
    might sound stupid, but i tried to understand the wii scene releases, i'm not a coder/programmer... but could it be the encryptionis based on a combo of mac and time? this would make it hard to compare dumps since the time of dump is affecting the code, the other part is unique to the system (or at least almost unique). i understood that Nintendo already used these two in securety lines at the wii (see bannerbomb/letterbomb).
     
  16. Oxybelis

    Member Oxybelis GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Antarctica
    MAC was not used as security in Wii. Neither in 3DS.
     
  17. Vappy

    Member Vappy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,079
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I remember smealum mentioning on twitter that downgrading without a previous dump is possible, but that it requires the ability to execute custom code on the 3DS you want to downgrade, which if you have that then you'd have no need to downgrade. He didn't specify but I'm assuming he meant you'd need kernel level, so it's not something ssspwn would be capable of.
     
  18. JaapDaniels

    Member JaapDaniels GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    Netherlands
    right so i had to use my mac adres for fun? even offline versions of letterbomb uses the mac adres to gain acces to the message engine... injecting an exploit in the mail...
     
  19. gamesquest1

    Member gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    10,309
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    messages on the wii are made for the specific wii, the mac address is used kind of like a email address so the wii knows that that message stored on the SD card is for that wii......its more of an identifier than a security method

    just so messages dont get mixed up if you use the SD card on different wii consoles
     
  20. JaapDaniels

    Member JaapDaniels GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    Netherlands
    okay that takes care of that... thanks... like i sayd i'm not a coder nor a programmer...
     

Share This Page