Downgrade 3DS Firmware?

Discussion in '3DS - Hacking & Homebrew' started by EvilMakiPR, Mar 7, 2014.

Mar 7, 2014

Downgrade 3DS Firmware? by EvilMakiPR at 6:26 PM (22,798 Views / 0 Likes) 19 Comments

    • Member

    EvilMakiPR New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Message Count:
    1,138
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    I've been hearing/reading about some 3DS Downgrade Service. Is that true? I mean like if I'm on the latest Firmware I can Downgrade to 4.5 and be Gateway Compatible? How? Where? Any help?
    • Member

    gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Message Count:
    4,004
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nope, you can only "downgrade" if you already dumped your nand from when it was a lower version
    • Member

    tatripp New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Message Count:
    329
    Country:
    United States
    I'm almost certain that you would have had to backed up your nand before updating past 4.5. If you don't know what that means and you have already updated, then it is too late.
    • Newcomer

    Avalynn New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Message Count:
    80
    Location:
    Mass
    Country:
    United States
    From what I understand, in order to downgrade you would need a backup made of your system at the version you want to downgrade to, i.e. 4.5.0. Each system is uniquely encrypted so backups are only good for the system it came from. If you are on 7.1.0 and have a backup at 4.5.0 you can downgrade but if you don't have a back up you are out of luck for now.
    • Member

    EvilMakiPR New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Message Count:
    1,138
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    No, no I've been reading about a Mod that let the guy Downgrade the 3DS

    So How I do that Backup?
    Last edited by EvilMakiPR, Mar 7, 2014
    • Newcomer

    Avalynn New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Message Count:
    80
    Location:
    Mass
    Country:
    United States
    If you would be so kind into sharing this article you have been reading it would help. From what I know there is no downgrading if you don't already posses a backup prior to upgrading.
    • Member

    gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Message Count:
    4,004
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    links?
    the only downgrade method i have seen is only if you have an existing dump from 4.x (well you could downgrade to whatever firmware you want if you had the relevant nand dump from your specific console)

    i seen a few people did the hardware dump from 5.x-6.x before updating to 7.x so they can downgrade if ever a new exploit is released....but the only useful purpose atm is downgrading to 4.x
    Last edited by gamesquest1, Mar 7, 2014
    • Member

    EvilMakiPR New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Message Count:
    1,138
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    • Newcomer

    Devrim New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Message Count:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Would it be possible to force/exploit the 3DS to update to 4.5 based on old game carts? Are the full firmware updates stored on them?
    • Member

    Reecey Mario 64 (my favorite game ever)

    Member Since:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Message Count:
    833
    Location:
    At Home :)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just a point if you have your back up Nand from one 4.5.0 3DS could you then use it too downgrade another 3DS or not or does that back up Nand only work with that 3DS?
    • Newcomer

    Avalynn New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Message Count:
    80
    Location:
    Mass
    Country:
    United States
    No unfortunately for the time being they are unique to each system, again each system is uniquely encrypted.
    • Member

    gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Message Count:
    4,004
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah they said they had an existing dump.....case closed :P
    Last edited by gamesquest1, Mar 7, 2014
    EvilMakiPR likes this.
    • Member

    Reecey Mario 64 (my favorite game ever)

    Member Since:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Message Count:
    833
    Location:
    At Home :)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Shame, maybe GW might get to that point could be well worthy in a future update.
    • Reporter

    Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor

    Member Since:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Message Count:
    3,221
    Location:
    Fortress Monastery Titan
    Country:
    Finland
    As long as the firmware encryption isn't cracked, there is no way to downgrade without an original backup of the system. If you happen to have a 4.x or previous fw dump, you can get your console compatible with gateway. Otherwise it's a case of buying a new 3ds with compatible firmware and/or replacing your internal hardware with compatible hardware (I.e. a console with pre-5.x firmware still installed).
    • Newcomer

    JaapDaniels New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    32
    might sound stupid, but i tried to understand the wii scene releases, i'm not a coder/programmer... but could it be the encryptionis based on a combo of mac and time? this would make it hard to compare dumps since the time of dump is affecting the code, the other part is unique to the system (or at least almost unique). i understood that Nintendo already used these two in securety lines at the wii (see bannerbomb/letterbomb).
    • Member

    Oxybelis New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Message Count:
    235
    Country:
    Antarctica
    MAC was not used as security in Wii. Neither in 3DS.
    • Member

    Vappy New Member

    Member Since:
    May 23, 2012
    Message Count:
    267
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I remember smealum mentioning on twitter that downgrading without a previous dump is possible, but that it requires the ability to execute custom code on the 3DS you want to downgrade, which if you have that then you'd have no need to downgrade. He didn't specify but I'm assuming he meant you'd need kernel level, so it's not something ssspwn would be capable of.
    • Newcomer

    JaapDaniels New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    32
    right so i had to use my mac adres for fun? even offline versions of letterbomb uses the mac adres to gain acces to the message engine... injecting an exploit in the mail...
    • Member

    gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Message Count:
    4,004
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    messages on the wii are made for the specific wii, the mac address is used kind of like a email address so the wii knows that that message stored on the SD card is for that wii......its more of an identifier than a security method

    just so messages dont get mixed up if you use the SD card on different wii consoles
    Last edited by gamesquest1, Jul 30, 2014
    • Newcomer

    JaapDaniels New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    32
    okay that takes care of that... thanks... like i sayd i'm not a coder nor a programmer...
SPONSORED LINKS

Share This Page