Dolphin Emulator running SLOW.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by darkachraf, Aug 10, 2011.

Aug 10, 2011
    • Newcomer

    darkachraf New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Message Count:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Hi there,

    I'm using Dolphin emulator r7695, but New super mario bros: Wii is running way to slow,
    is it because im using a .wbfs? should i make an iso from it?
    I actually own the game.
    Menu speed is 14 FPS , when i'm playing a level its 10-11 FPS.
    I dont think its because of my specs, im using:

    Windows 7 enterprise (64 bit)
    Intel Core i7 CPU 2.13GHZ (4CPUs)
    2048 MB RAM
    DirectX11
    Graphics card: INTEL HD Graphics (760 mb)

    Is there anybody who could help me? I'd appreciate it.
    • Member

    zizer New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,035
    Country:
    Western Sahara
    • Member

    tueidj I R Expert

    Member Since:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,569
    Country:
    Pacific Ocean
    Get a real graphics card.
    • Member

    kevan Imagination rules the world

    Member Since:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,373
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    0_0
    Why you got so little ram on an i7 machine?
    I reckon you need
    at least an extra 2GB ram and a mid range 1GB GPU (ATI/AMD or Nvidia).
    With that shoudnt experience any troubles.
    Ram probally not necessary though, i just think it will help overall computer
    performance, from what ive heard these emus are mainly cpu/gpu intensive (cpu mainly).
    • Member

    Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Member Since:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Message Count:
    12,467
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    or a REAL wii cos this is a WII forum [IMG]
    • Member

    spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Member Since:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Message Count:
    2,442
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lower the gfx resolution to as low as you can, try switching between direct3d and openGL, buy some more RAM.
    • Newcomer

    darkachraf New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Message Count:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Could it be the ram, even if it isnt being used fully?
    Its not the GPU that is the problem, The emulator uses mostly CPU.
    But whats wrong with my CPU then? Can anybody explain?
    • Member

    Satangel BEAST

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Message Count:
    10,205
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    From my experience with PCSX2 (PS2 emulator) the CPU is indeed the most important. You have an i7 so that's good. BUT I see each one of those cores only runs at 2,16GHz, and seeing Dolphin (just as PCSX2) only supports 2 cores to the fullest, that may very well be your problem.
    It doesn't matter you have 4 cores, the emulator is programmed to only use 2 cores and if those cores don't work fast enough, there will be lag. Ideally you should have a super fast Dual Core for emulators, and not a Quadcore.

    From their FAQ:
    Q: The game runs very slow
    A: Do not expect to get high FPS in all games, Dolphin is still in development and needs a fast CPU to run it (eg: 2-4+ Ghz SSE2 supported processor). Try enabling Dual Core under configure to speed it up.
    • Newcomer

    darkachraf New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Message Count:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks alot, this makes it more clear.
    Is there any way I could speed up those cores? Any other things hardware/software to speed up the emulator?
    • Member

    tueidj I R Expert

    Member Since:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,569
    Country:
    Pacific Ocean
    Nope. Dolphin needs both a decent CPU and GPU. Integrated graphics won't cut it. Trust me, I've got an i5 and I know how much the "Intel HD Graphics" sucks compared to even a $20 NVIDIA or ATI card.
    • Newcomer

    darkachraf New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Message Count:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    The graphics are fine, and satangel was right. it's using more CPU than GPU. When i'm using dolphin 2 cores are being fully used. I can see that on speedfan.
    Any way to speed up my processor or is it possible to fuse cores?
    • Member

    Hielkenator New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Message Count:
    3,956
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You need to learn a lot....

    Anyway, you computer is just to slow to enjoy the use of Dolphin on full speed.
    Get a faster Processor, more ram, and a nice midrange Videocard.
    A wireless sensorbar and an Bluetooth dongle for your Wiimote.
    • Member

    Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Member Since:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Message Count:
    12,467
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    or a real Wii it'll be less expensive [IMG]
    • Member

    Coto Challenge Taken.

    Member Since:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,074
    Country:
    Chile
    Intel cards have been optimized for Directx API (anything over DX9 engine will make things sloooooww..) . Those cards sucks at OpenGL. And since IGPs (Intel..) only have 8MB of real vram, a low res like spinal said, should help you.
    Of course this would have been a bit different if you had a NVIDIA or ATI IGP..

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page