• Likes 2

Tom

Gbatemp's Unofficial Modder
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I got a 3d printer the beggining of this summer and have been working on tweaking it ever since. I was In the middle of my best print and I quit the program by accident( I know) So theres no telling what the quality is just yet.

Anyways I was wondering how many people would be interested If I started printing out some reprap parts to make your own 3d printer. You'd still need the electronics, belts, motors ect but this would save you $40-$80 for the printed parts , If people want them and my quality is good then I'll start giving out parts for shipping. Would love to have some other people help out too :)

RepRap "Self replicating" 3d printer wiki link http://reprap.org/wiki/Main_Page

Reactions: 2 people

Vulpes Abnocto

Not Dead Yet
Former Staff
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
This is quite relevant to my interests. I've been considering getting into the RepRap project for a few months, now.
About how much could you send the parts to Georgia, for?
On a scale of 1 to 10 (1 being 'can be done by a three year old' and 10 being 'requires cybernetic brains to figure out') where would you rank the difficulty of putting together the initial Reprap model?
What are the common challenges to quality that a new maker can expect?

Vulpes Abnocto

Not Dead Yet
Former Staff
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
If you ever have a $200+ piece of equipment
that dies due to a stripped-out plastic gear that you can't buy anymore,
you'll figure out uses for 3D printing.

Also, This.

Reactions: 1 person

MelodieOctavia

Just your friendly neighborhood Transbian.
Former Staff
Trophies
Website
yourmom.com
XP
Country
Djibouti
I got a 3d printer the beggining of this summer and have been working on tweaking it ever since. I was In the middle of my best print and I quit the program by accident( I know) So theres no telling what the quality is just yet.