1. ZeroFX

    OP ZeroFX Eh. What?
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Japan
    Too much hassle having to detach your main mouse and keyboard from pc to use with switch? Or don't have spares?
    Well i think i got the solution, barrier; Barrier is a kvm software, a fork from Synergy 1.9 that focus on mantaining the simplicity of the older version of a software thats now paid, but that's not the case with barrier, it also mantained Synergy's old price: $0! (Ok it was always paid i know, but it had nightlies and you could build for free).

    Preparing.

    • Well first things first!
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade
    • Now sweet sweet dependencies:
    Code:
    sudo apt install git cmake make xorg-dev g++ libcurl4-openssl-dev libavahi-compat-libdnssd-dev libssl-dev libx11-dev libqt4-dev qtbase5-dev
    Compiling.
    • Get the source tarball with:
    Code:
    wget https://github.com/debauchee/barrier/archive/v2.1.2.tar.gz && tar xzvf v2.1.2.tar.gz && cd barrier-2.1.2
    • Fire the building script:
    Code:
    ./clean_build.sh
    • Then install it:
    Code:
    cd build && sudo make install
    Hold up you're not ready yet.
    • Cursor will be invisible, to fix it:
    Code:
    gsettings set org.gnome.settings-daemon.plugins.cursor active false
    "How do i setup this? Im new to this world".
    • Well fear not, fire the program typing barrier on terminal or search on your launcher;
    • Now choose language, and choose client, you're basically done on switch:
    • On pc, if windows, mac or linux you go to Barrier's github, download the release for your platform;
    • After installed you'll fire the program, choose language and server;
    • Now click on configure server, drag the monitor icon in the top right to the side of the other monitor icon that represents your pc on the grid;
    • Double click the icon that now says Unamed and write your switch's name on the Screen Name box;
      • Your switch name is the one that appears on the Terminal, you choose it at installation along with your username.
    • Click OK, then OK, then Apply and Start;
    • They should detect themselves and you should be done!
    Any errors or things i should add, point them :).
     
  2. thejrosso

    thejrosso Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 15, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for writing this up! I've only recently found barrier through a solution to an unrelated problem and I was looking for a way to run/compile it properly on L4T.
    Confirmed working. Cheers!
     
    ZeroFX likes this.
  3. RHOPKINS13

    RHOPKINS13 Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    I've been using Barrier with my laptop and my development box at work, it's a great tool! Used Synergy on the computers at my parent's house over 10 years ago.

    Using it with Ubuntu on the Switch is an awesome idea. Thanks for the tutorial, I'm sure it will help lots of people.
     
    ZeroFX likes this.
  4. StarGazerTom

    StarGazerTom GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1,973
    Country:
    Just decided to try installing this as it would be much easier than any other solution I've found so far, but on the switch, the service just gets stuck on "barrier is starting" and the terminal is complaining about not having, or missing a compatibility with "DnsServiceRegister", therefore I cannot connect at all.

    Any solutions?
     
    ZeroFX likes this.
  5. RHOPKINS13

    RHOPKINS13 Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    Use your PC's IP Address instead of hostname?

    Also, this sounds kinda dumb, but you do realize your Switch has to be connected to your wifi first, right? This isn't using USB.
     
    ZeroFX likes this.
  6. ZeroFX

    OP ZeroFX Eh. What?
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Japan
    You're welcome! And thanks, as soon as I remembered about synergy I found out about barrieer, got it running and then I thought of spreading, it's helping me a lot when messing with the system.

    Well that's really weird, have you installed something that could possibly mess with this? Like DNS of something that change network? Checked Firewall? I compiled in a fresh install, had nothing extra, and idk if something could break barrier.
     
  7. StarGazerTom

    StarGazerTom GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1,973
    Country:
    Making a fresh install, so hopefully it's just a incompatibility error from something I previously installed.
     
    ZeroFX likes this.
  8. LinkFan16

    LinkFan16 I link them all
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Country:
    Germany
    I know I'm a bit late to the party, but thanks for writing this tutorial. I just set up L4T Ubuntu on my switch and so far had no luck with installing Barrier either from the flatpak or the snap. I thought that compiling it from source might be the solution, so this really helps. Will try and see how it goes.

    Edit: Compiling Barrier went really smooth thanks to your great tutorial. I faced some problems when I tried to connect with Barrier on the Switch to use the mouse and keyboard of my Windows 10 host machine however. The following things might be good to know for setting up and using Barrier:

    - If something isn't working, press F2 to check the Log in Barrier. This should give you an idea where the problem lies.
    - If the Log shows some error related to an SSL library in Linux, disable SSL in the Barrier settings (pressing F4 will open the settings)
    - Can't connect from Linux using a Windows machine as host? Allow Barrier to communicate through the firewall on Windows.
    - Make sure you go through the server configuration on both the host and the client and add the other machine on the display and connections tab. Also use the actual display name of the machine. On windows, this can be found in the hardware manager. On Linux just open a terminal. The part between the "@" sign and the ":" is the display name.
     
    Last edited by LinkFan16, Oct 12, 2019
    ZeroFX likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Tutorial], installing, Compiling