OP
Global Moderator
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Four goals in this thread:

1) Let this be a place for asking dumb questions about working out and diets
2) Post your workout/meal regimen, with before/in-between/current pictures if you have any
3) Post things that didn't work for you so others can share.
4) Avoid talks about silly things like testosterone replacements and various other "magic bullets".

We're talking about sustainable, healthy living, not "how do I lose weight and bulk up as dangerously and quickly as possible". Talking about macros and the like is fine, but please go into detail for those who are new to this lingo. Consider this "newby" territory. While other threads like this exist, they're not exactly new or fresh, and I'm hoping to keep this thread just about healthy eating and solid workout advice. First post will be my progress. I'm no expert, so feel free to call me out for doing dumb stuff.

Things to keep in mind
Some nuggets of facts to address common old-wives tales (this will be updated based on responses in the thread):
- Weight loss is about calorie in/calorie out.
things like no-carb diet do influence the body in many ways, but the main effect is usually just having loads less calorie intake (high-carb food tends to be high-calorie as well, for example)​
- Losing weight is around 90% what you eat and only about 10% about your workout.
You workout to get healthier, you eat right to lose weight. You do both to maximize both. If you only do one or the other, you harshly hinder your progress in both.​
- A "diet" isn't a temporary thing. A diet is just the types of food you eat on a normal basis.
going "on a diet" usually means you change what you eat temporarily to more quickly lose weight. As a rule of thumb, this isn't overly healthy or sustainable. If you want to become and stay fit, you find a permanent diet. A general rule of thumb for a healthy diet is: "eat food. not too much. mostly veggies".​