Updates for disk-based games on a jailbroken PS$

meeeow

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
Hey,

I purchased my first PS4 (and my first PlayStation console in general), which is currently running on FW v9.0 and should arrive tomorrow. I have a quick question since I am a beginner (I've done some research and prepared everything else for the jailbreak already).

The "problem" is: I already have a couple of games on discs. I would like to install updates but play the main game still from the disc to preserve space on the internal hard disk.

So, the question is if there is a procedure to update games without being connected to Sony's servers. If you could point me to the correct tutorial, it would already help me a lot.

Thank you in advance!

Last edited by meeeow,

TimPV3

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I would like to install updates but play the main game still from the disc to preserve space on the internal hard disk.

PS4 installs all games to the hard drive, the disc is basically just used to make sure you still own the game.

Reactions: KiiWii

meeeow

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
That's probably the best solution. I am waiting for a raspberry pi zero to arrive that is supposed to do the jailbreak every time the PS4 is booted up, get everything set up, and then I gonna take a look if I purchase an external HDD.

Maupiti

Hacking is so « Nice »
Trophies
XP
Country
France
That's probably the best solution. I am waiting for a raspberry pi zero to arrive that is supposed to do the jailbreak every time the PS4 is booted up, get everything set up, and then I gonna take a look if I purchase an external HDD.
Huummm, Raspberry Pi Zero ?

That’s what I used first when 9.00 jailbreak came, ( with the Rasperry Pi project) , instead of crappy usb sticks.

Bur honestly, I think it’s a waste of “power “, unless you have specific projects😉.

I use now (even if I have a Pi Zero 2W 🙄, esp32 S2 mini modded), a dongle usb based on esp32, works like a charm…