[Tutorial] Convert .3DS To .CIA Easy And Fast!

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by TheGreek Boy, Jul 2, 2016.

  1. Jayro

    Member Jayro MediCat DVD and Mini Windows 10 Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4,317
    Location:
    Octovalley
    Country:
    United States
    I'm unable to dump ANY of the bomberman games for NDS... Any reason why they refuse to dump?
     


  2. Vitaminer

    Member Vitaminer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United States
    This is the best guide for converting 3ds to cia! I got it working really good! I've tried other guides that mentions I need some slot.zip file that I cant seem to find and download anywhere, and this guide doesn't require it and it is much simpler than other guides with different instructions, thank you Greek boy!
     
    comput3rus3r likes this.
  3. simon66

    Newcomer simon66 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    Canada
    The latest version of Decrypt9 can convert .3ds to .cia without a computer.
     
    medoli900 likes this.
  4. valriv34

    Newcomer valriv34 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Indonesia
    I've already followed the step up to the conversion which is part 2..But after drag n drop and finish, i didnt get the CIA file instead there is a folder named work and inside it, there's a CXI file and CFA file..so is there anything wrong in my step?
     
  5. A7MAD

    Member A7MAD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    It didn't work for me, when I drag and drop the .3ds on the 3dsconv, it just opens for a second and closes.
     
  6. kid sampson

    Member kid sampson GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    United States
    Before I go poking around in something I don't understand, can you outline the steps to do this?
     
  7. Genrev0914

    Newcomer Genrev0914 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Philippines
    ..
     
    Last edited by Genrev0914, Jan 20, 2017
  8. comput3rus3r

    Member comput3rus3r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    456
    Country:
    United States
    If you convert trimmed .3ds roms to .cia will they still work?
     
  9. comput3rus3r

    Member comput3rus3r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    456
    Country:
    United States
    I will post an answer to my own question very soon.
     
  10. spyfire

    Newcomer spyfire Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Germany
    the converter doesn't work with 32bit windows 7, at least the prompt says thats the problem.
     
  11. lucia_ett

    Newcomer lucia_ett Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    France
    I cant copy 4gb files to my FAT32 memory card, is there a way to split .3ds files before converting them?
     
  12. rcamp48

    Newcomer rcamp48 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    You can trim them with 3ds explorer on the pc
     
  13. cybrmartian

    Newcomer cybrmartian Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I have tried just about everything. I have 2 Modded N3dsXL's and they were modded and have Homebrew and I can do everything I want but I have run into one small problem and I think it is because they are now on 11.3. My wife has a game she wants and is have the .3ds file and believe i need to convert it to a cia to install with FBI, I have tried everything here and when I drag the .3ds file on to the conversion program above on my 64bit windows 10 machine it open for a second then drops out, In the directory it creates the "work" directory but that is all it does, there is no cia file created and nothing in the work folder at all. I can;t load Dcrypt9WIP, It shows up in HBL but when I go to start it you get dropped back into HBL. I assume 11.3 broke Dcrypt9 from being able to run. Any suggestions?
     
  14. cybrmartian

    Newcomer cybrmartian Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Before anyone responds I figured it out, I went to bed and woke up this morning with a clear head and realized Dcrypt9 was in the payload directory for Luma and I was able to get to it that way and not through HBL. I was able to decrypt and convert and all is now good. Like most things in life if you step away from the problem for a bit and come back the solution reveals itself.
     
    OfficialBrony likes this.
  15. arjanv

    Newcomer arjanv Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    hi,

    do i need to do these steps for every game?
    7) Copy And Paste Your .3ds Rom To sd:\D9Game
    8) Remove The SD Card From Your Computer
    9) Insert The SD Card In To Your O3DS/N3DS
    10) Turn ON Your O3DS/N3DS And Boot To Luma3DS While Holding The LEFT_DPAD
    11) Now You Are In Decrypt9 Scroll Down And Select "Content Decryptor Options"
    12) Select "NCCH/NCSD Decryptor" And Wait Until Finished
    13) When It's Finished Turn OFF Your O3DS/N3DS

    and then the conversion steps.
     
  16. arjanv

    Newcomer arjanv Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    oops i post it twice
     
  17. darky2003

    Member darky2003 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Country:
    Belgium
    works for me , but are the games region free?
     
  18. DragonStefan

    Newcomer DragonStefan Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi all,

    I want to add some things to this tutorial.

    At the moment I am trying this method, I must admit, the method with creating the .xorpads (small files) https://gbatemp.net/threads/release-3ds-simple-cia-converter.384559/ is way faster, efficienter and better than this method.

    1.Here you first have to copy the .3ds rom to your D9Game folder. Which takes around 2minutes rounded above.
    2.Then you open 3DS with holding left dpad and powerbutton and click 3 things. It took around 4/5 minutes tops for a 2gb rom
    3. Then you have to copy the rom back to the pc to the Decrypted 3DS Rom To CIA folder.
    4. Make .cia rom.
    5. Copy .cia rom back to the 3ds. 2minutes
    6. install .cia rom on your 3ds.

    Alltogether that would take around 8-9 minutes if you know what you do.

    Having experience with the 3DS Simple CIA Converter v4.3. I thought it cost less time to make the .xorpads which are rly small, and the tool on your pc and make the cia with the pc was faster.

    I guess the time difference , most convenient way, is the 3DS Simple CIA Converter v4.3 method, since point 2. 4-5minutes to make the rom is just way longer.


    YF,

    DragonStefan
     
    Last edited by DragonStefan, May 18, 2017 at 11:10 AM

Share This Page