Show us your dongle!

duffman2k

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 6, 2022
Messages
78
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Stavanger
XP
538
Country
Norway
Went super easy. Realise times moves too fast, and the time I thought in my younger years I could spend on having fun with videogames is more and more lost to work. When I'm finally not too tired I no longer have the skill to truly enjoy the experience, and I give up. I guess it true what they say of mice and men...

What bin files should I definitely upload? Have the lastest Goldhen. Is there a good website I should check out?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20230830_173241264.jpg
    IMG_20230830_173241264.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 47
  • Like
Reactions: peteruk

remlei

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2013
Messages
183
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
615
Country
Recently got this beauty for cheap. it only cost me like 4USD shipped.

the dongle it self is not pre-flased out of the box so you have to flash it with your preferred esp32-s2 host bin file.
to enter programming mode, you basically have to press and hold "SW1" push button using a paperclip or sim ejector. while you press and hold that button, you plug it in to your PC's USB port, if it all goes well, your Windows PC should be able to detect the new USB device. After that its basically the same steps how to flash esp32-s2 host files on it.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20231104_150924.jpg
    IMG_20231104_150924.jpg
    3.6 MB · Views: 38
  • Like
Reactions: b0li and peteruk

laz305

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
878
Trophies
1
XP
1,684
Country
United States
thanks got it. hey can you show me what i need to add to put it into sleep mode like you do that turns off the lcd, cuz mine right now just goes blank but lcd is still lite

Got it i think, i had this
//ESP sleep after x minutes
boolean espSleep = false;
int TIME2SLEEP = 5; // minutes

and change it to what you have then?

//ESP sleep after x minutes
boolean espSleep = true; //enable on by default
boolean sleeponpayload = true; //deepsleep after payload is sent
int8_t TIME2SLEEP = 10; // minutes
Post automatically merged:

Ok nm I don’t got it. Now I see all that extra code you got for int8_t and I’m not sure where to copy it. Could you take a look at my ino and fix it for me please?
 
Last edited by laz305,

mrdude

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
3,071
Trophies
1
Age
56
XP
8,227
thanks got it. hey can you show me what i need to add to put it into sleep mode like you do that turns off the lcd, cuz mine right now just goes blank but lcd is still lite

Got it i think, i had this
//ESP sleep after x minutes
boolean espSleep = false;
int TIME2SLEEP = 5; // minutes

and change it to what you have then?

//ESP sleep after x minutes
boolean espSleep = true; //enable on by default
boolean sleeponpayload = true; //deepsleep after payload is sent
int8_t TIME2SLEEP = 10; // minutes
Post automatically merged:

Ok nm I don’t got it. Now I see all that extra code you got for int8_t and I’m not sure where to copy it. Could you take a look at my ino and fix it for me please?
All the information you need is in here:
https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esp-idf/en/stable/esp32s3/api-reference/system/sleep_modes.html#:~:text=In Deep-sleep mode, the,ULP coprocessor

You just just set the lcd colour to black though, set the brightness to 0 as that's the same as turning it off.

Code:
void deepsleep() {
  pinMode(TFT_LEDA_PIN, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(TFT_LEDA_PIN, 1); //turn off lcd screen
  leds = 0x000000; //set onboard led to black - turns them off
  FastLED.show();
  FastLED.setBrightness(0);
  esp_wifi_stop();
  esp_sleep_pd_config(ESP_PD_DOMAIN_RTC_PERIPH, ESP_PD_OPTION_OFF);
  esp_light_sleep_start();
  //esp_deep_sleep_start(); //don't use deep sleep or the lcd backlight will stay on
  return;
}
 
Last edited by mrdude,
  • Like
Reactions: laz305 and peteruk

laz305

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
878
Trophies
1
XP
1,684
Country
United States
hey curious, why don't you use #include <TFT_eSPI.h> I was under the impression it was a necessity for LilyGo
 

mrdude

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
3,071
Trophies
1
Age
56
XP
8,227
ok then, i just don't see it in your ino. that's why i asked
That's because you don't have the code that I am using.
Post automatically merged:

ok then, i just don't see it in your ino. that's why i asked
Probably because you are looking at one that isn't for the lilygo t dongle.
 
Last edited by mrdude,
  • Like
Reactions: laz305

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: If just for PC I would recommend an external hard drive like 2 TB and just build your own...