R4SDHC Dual-Core Firmware

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Hypnotizing, Apr 2, 2016.

Apr 2, 2016

R4SDHC Dual-Core Firmware by Hypnotizing at 11:10 PM (2,259 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Hypnotizing
    OP

    Newcomer Hypnotizing Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Mexico
    Hi everyone, so i recently got this flashcart , and already installed the firmware provided in the official page , i was wondering there's a way to test other firmwares ? the ones i've tried get me an error on boot.

    Thanks for any help you can give me.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Dartz150

    Member Dartz150 GBATemp Official Lolicon Onii-chan™

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,393
    Location:
    On a Strange Journey
    Country:
    Mexico
    You must go to the seller who sold it to you, they always have the needed files for every cart they have. I know because I once worked with one, trust me :).
     
  3. Sleet

    Member Sleet GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    268
    Country:
    United States
    If you extracted the kernel correctly it's likely the SD is corrupted. Make a backup and get SD Formatter from sdcard.org. Use full overwrite and size adjustment.

    You can try YSmenu too if want to try another kernel. Use the R4i-SDHC folder from retrogamefan's multi-card update. Replace the original r4.dat with this attached one to make it primary boot. You may want to rename the original so it doesn't get deleted.

    (please use at your own risk)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by Sleet, Jan 11, 2017
  4. Kayleea

    Newcomer Kayleea Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    I am using the R4i SDHC Dual-Core 1.72 firmware, and it works fine.
     
  5. Johnny_Bigtime

    Newcomer Johnny_Bigtime Newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you so much. Been searching for days on how to replace the clunky stock kernel.

    I have an R4i Gold Pro which is the same kernel as every other card on r4isdhc.com. This hit it perfectly!
     
  6. BARNWEY

    Member BARNWEY THE MLG DINOSAUR

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Imagination
    Country:
    United States
    I used it on a R4i Dual Core 2016, works perfectly... NO MORE TIMEBOMB FW FOR ME!!!!
     
  7. geninchuni

    Newcomer geninchuni Newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Mexico
    thanks for the R4.dat :D
     
    Last edited by geninchuni, Jan 11, 2017
  8. BARNWEY

    Member BARNWEY THE MLG DINOSAUR

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Imagination
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, I just didn't have time last night XD. I'll try to do it tonight...
     
  9. puszcza

    Newcomer puszcza Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Poland
    YSmenu kernel is better? In whitch ways? Battery consumption, more options?
     
  10. elBenyo

    Member elBenyo Wad of meat.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    United States
    I'm also curious what makes Ysmenu better, I'm about to pick up a few flash cards in the future.
     
  11. puszcza

    Newcomer puszcza Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Poland
    As I read, YSmenu doesnt support RTS function.
    I`m curious about battey life.
     
  12. BARNWEY

    Member BARNWEY THE MLG DINOSAUR

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Imagination
    Country:
    United States
    Same, but the original fimware forces you to update after a while...
     

Share This Page