Play games installed to USB without booting into CFW?

Glomgold

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Norway
I've been reading a bit and have started installing CFW on my Wii U, my understanding is that the Wii U has it's own USB loader from Nintendo. When I have installed a game with WUP is it okey to play this game without launching Tiramisu?

jeffyTheHomebrewer

Neato Burrito!
Trophies
Website
catboybeebop.neocities.org
XP
Country
United States
Tiramisu (or Aroma) should automatically load whenever you turn on your Wii U. I see no reason to NOT boot into CFW, especially with how you need CFW to be able to play games you didn't buy from the eshop (or don't have on a disc)

So just don't worry about it, you literally cannot get banned from Nintendo Network for piracy. Cheating in online games/modes though might, but I'm not an expert there.

Glomgold

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Norway
Thanks for the answers, extra safety when kids are playing was my reason for asking. I have some discs so I guess I could do it then.

WUDD is the go to app for this now?

Last edited by Glomgold,

SDIO

Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
I see no reason to NOT boot into CFW, especially with how you need CFW to be able to play games you didn't buy from the eshop (or don't have on a disc)
It takes additional 7 seconds of boot time. Also have you considered that there might be people who actually buy the games they play instead of stealing them?

WUDD is the go to app for this now
Yes. You can then use nuspli lite to install the dumped games. For that you don't even need sigpatches and your Wii U can be completely stock after installing the games. I would also advise to back them up to the PC. The Wii U discs are known to rot, so it is good to have a save backup somewere.

Reactions: jeffyTheHomebrewer

nothing-to-see-here

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States