Hacking Monster Hunter Tri: Transferring save file from PAL to NTSC

vdogg123

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
So I started playing Monster Hunter Tri (PAL), and had been playing it for about a month and have like 40 hours on it. I realized that when I go online, it connects to the European servers and not the US ones. So I got the NTSC version of the game, but my save file won't work. I have to start a new game...
frown.gif
I've been looking for a solution for hours.

I was looking into a program called FE100, but it seems to need data.bin savefile which Monster Hunter Tri doesn't give (MH3 doesn't let me copy the save file to my SD card). I can however use SaveGame Manager to extract the save... but installing the save onto my Wii with SaveGame Manager doesn't work.

This guy seemed to be able to do it with the Japanese version:
http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=221555

SaveGame Manager gives me these files:

banner.bin
nocopy (FOLDER)
data00
data01
data02
data03
data04
data05
system
network

The data00, data01.... files I believe correspond to the 6 savefiles you can choose from in the game.
I tried to copy data00 from the PAL save to the NTSC save but that didn't work.

I really want to be able to play with my character from the PAL version on the NTSC game with US servers online. Please, if anyone can help it's greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

EseHomes

Banned!
Banned
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Please explain what you mean "it didn't work". What part of the steps failed for you. I know that there are a few games where the savegame can not be region changed without hex editting. But I know for most other games it works to do the process like you said. I have confirmed it with about 30 games so far and only ran into hex editting issues with 2 games.

vdogg123

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I didn't actually edit anything with a HEX editor, but just looked at the files.