Hacking Luma3DS - Noob-proof 3DS Custom Firmware

Status
Not open for further replies.

KytuzuEX

Recreate your Re:Creators by Recreating.
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2014
Messages
755
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
688
Country
Puerto Rico
If I have already RxTools, how I can replace it with AuReiNAND?
Just a "if" question.
 

fr3quency

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
811
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Wherever my imagination decides.
Website
fr3quency.deviantart.com
XP
823
Country
Greece
If I have already RxTools, how I can replace it with AuReiNAND?
Just a "if" question.
Yes. You can run as many CFWs as you want, if you have a bootloader(such as CtrBootManager). You just need to download (Au)ReiNand from GitHub + the firm files from a link in the GitHub.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KytuzuEX

Shuttleu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2010
Messages
106
Trophies
0
XP
319
Country
Yea, I don't use splash, it may looks nice but it feels less clean than real coldboot.

Code:
u16 padInput = ~(*(u16*)0x10146000);
        if((padInput & (1<<0)) && tryLoadFile("/rei/payloads/a.bin"))
            jumpAndTryEnableBL("/rei/payloads/a.bin");
        else if((padInput & (1<<1)) && tryLoadFile("/rei/payloads/b.bin"))
            jumpAndTryEnableBL("/rei/payloads/b.bin");
        else if((padInput & (1<<2)) && tryLoadFile("/rei/payloads/select.bin"))
            jumpAndTryEnableBL("/rei/payloads/select.bin");
        else if((padInput & (1<<3)) && tryLoadFile("/rei/payloads/start.bin"))
            jumpAndTryEnableBL("/rei/payloads/start.bin");
        else if((padInput & (1<<4)) && tryLoadFile("/rei/payloads/right.bin"))
            jumpAndTryEnableBL("/rei/payloads/right.bin");
        else if((padInput & (1<<5)) && tryLoadFile("/rei/payloads/left.bin"))
            jumpAndTryEnableBL("/rei/payloads/left.bin");
        else if((padInput & (1<<6)) && tryLoadFile("/rei/payloads/up.bin"))
            jumpAndTryEnableBL("/rei/payloads/up.bin");
        else if((padInput & (1<<7)) && tryLoadFile("/rei/payloads/down.bin"))
            jumpAndTryEnableBL("/rei/payloads/down.bin");
        else if((padInput & (1<<8)) && tryLoadFile("/rei/payloads/r.bin"))
            jumpAndTryEnableBL("/rei/payloads/r.bin");
        else if((padInput & (1<<9)) && tryLoadFile("/rei/payloads/l.bin"))
            jumpAndTryEnableBL("/rei/payloads/l.bin");
        else if((padInput & (1<<10)) && tryLoadFile("/rei/payloads/x.bin"))
            jumpAndTryEnableBL("/rei/payloads/x.bin");
        else if((padInput & (1<<11)) && tryLoadFile("/rei/payloads/y.bin"))
            jumpAndTryEnableBL("/rei/payloads/y.bin");
        else if(tryLoadFile("/rei/CFW.bin"))
        {
                jump();

It'll boot CFW.bin if no buttons are pressed, otherwise it will boot any payloads named after the buttons AND activate the backlight, no need to use a _bl file.

Just compiled it, working great. But it would be better if it was included into AuReiNand. FIX94 had a wonderful idea, really and people seems to ignore it a bit, even if it is just waaay cleaner.
Probably got the variable types all messed up, but wouldn't this work?
Code:
const string payloads[] = {"a", "b", "select", "start", "right", "left", "up", "down", "r", "l", "x", "y"};
u16 padInput =~(*(u16*)0x10146000);
bool loaded = false;
for(int i = 0; i <= 11; i++){
    if((padInput &(1<<i))&& tryLoadFile("/rei/payloads/"+payloads[i]+"bin")){
        loaded = true;
        jumpAndTryEnableBL("/rei/payloads/"+payloads[i]+"bin");
    }
}
if(!loaded && tryLoadFile("/rei/CFW.bin"))
    jump();
Much smaller and cleaner IMO
 
Last edited by Shuttleu,

leonmagnus99

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
3,704
Trophies
2
Age
33
Location
Seinegald
XP
2,875
Country
Iraq
Pitty you can't run GW cheats if you autoboot sysnand 10.7 :/

thats why i stick to emuNAND and not touching my sysNAND fw. (have only used Cheats in one game though, cause it frustrated me and i just take the story seriously, gameplay is so-so thus i wanna finish it quick, so i used a level up cheat XD) 'cause using cheats lot and not just in one game, it kills the fun in gaming imo. unless you dont care about the game your playing.
we need a big update from the GW team in order to have more options i guess.
 
Last edited by leonmagnus99,

toto621

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2015
Messages
384
Trophies
0
XP
1,426
Country
Belgium
Maybe Aurora will be able to implement a cheat system similar to NTR (cool but a pain to search for new cheat yourself) or Gateway (would be awesome)...or simply found how to allow gateway users to boot it on a9lh SysNAND (best option if you ask me).
 

dimmidice

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
2,359
Trophies
2
XP
3,005
Country
Belgium
I got it working on my N3DS 9.0 sys 10.7 emunand. but the bootrate is rather poor. any way to improve the bootrate without installing A9hl? since that requires downgrading and is just a whole lot of effort.
 

Supster131

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ *:・゚✧
Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
3,315
Trophies
1
Location
My Computer
XP
2,758
Country
United States
I got it working on my N3DS 9.0 sys 10.7 emunand. but the bootrate is rather poor. any way to improve the bootrate without installing A9hl? since that requires downgrading and is just a whole lot of effort.
Menuhax is the one that fails, not the CFW.
Unfortunately there's not much you can do (besides install A9LH).
 
  • Like
Reactions: peteruk

pbanj

The "friendly" neighborhood sandwich
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2014
Messages
2,759
Trophies
1
Location
in a ziploc
Website
pbanjin.space
XP
1,693
Country
United States
I got it working on my N3DS 9.0 sys 10.7 emunand. but the bootrate is rather poor. any way to improve the bootrate without installing A9hl? since that requires downgrading and is just a whole lot of effort.
Use a bootmanager(bootctr or ctrbootmanager) and mess with the delay/autobootfix. Also try the 2.6 ropbin payload for your system or the 2.1/lesshax payloads for your system. The different payloads will help with menuhax failing and the bootmanagers will help with the cfw failing
 

Ryft

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2013
Messages
617
Trophies
1
Age
38
Location
Illinois
XP
1,010
Country
United States
I'm trying to use the latest version to let me load decrypt9 by holding left+L+R when it boots by using the new payloads folder feature but when I try it, I just get a black screen. Am I doing something wrong?
 

Supster131

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ *:・゚✧
Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
3,315
Trophies
1
Location
My Computer
XP
2,758
Country
United States
I'm trying to use the latest version to let me load decrypt9 by holding left+L+R when it boots by using the new payloads folder feature but when I try it, I just get a black screen. Am I doing something wrong?
Did you properly place the payload in there?
 

urherenow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
4,814
Trophies
2
Age
48
Location
Japan
XP
3,734
Country
United States
Maybe Aurora will be able to implement a cheat system similar to NTR (cool but a pain to search for new cheat yourself) or Gateway (would be awesome)...or simply found how to allow gateway users to boot it on a9lh SysNAND (best option if you ask me).
not sure what you're trying to say, but you can already launch Gateway from AuReuiNand. You just have to launch 9.0~9.2 sysnand with the 9.0 native_firm (either hold L on boot, or build your own like I did, so it always boots that way (edit: and don't use the 'updatedsysnand' flag)). From there, you can launch hblauncher_loader on o3ds, or use MSET on N3ds to launch GW.
 
Last edited by urherenow,

Ryft

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2013
Messages
617
Trophies
1
Age
38
Location
Illinois
XP
1,010
Country
United States
Did you properly place the payload in there?

Well I fixed it because I had flubbed up the files but now Aureinand gives me a black screen... I'm just going to delete everything and copy the files back lol.

EDIT: I'm still getting a black screen on boot without holding any buttons... not sure what is going on.
 
Last edited by Ryft,

toto621

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2015
Messages
384
Trophies
0
XP
1,426
Country
Belgium
not sure what you're trying to say, but you can already launch Gateway from AuReuiNand. You just have to launch 9.0~9.2 sysnand with the 9.0 native_firm (either hold L on boot, or build your own like I did, so it always boots that way (edit: and don't use the 'updatedsysnand' flag)). From there, you can launch hblauncher_loader on o3ds, or use MSET on N3ds to launch GW.
I know that but it's counter productive with the whole idea to have Updated SysNAND and Gateway. If you must have either 9.2 sysNAND + up-2-date EmuNAND or up-2-date SysNAND + 9.2 EmuNAND then you better not use a9lh at all (as a Gateway user).
So until someone find a way to use 3dsx with 10.x firmware or create a payload to cold boot Launcher.dat, Gateway users cannot take the whole benefit of a9lh (and by whole I mean you can also ditch emuNAND).
 

urherenow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
4,814
Trophies
2
Age
48
Location
Japan
XP
3,734
Country
United States
I know that but it's counter productive with the whole idea to have Updated SysNAND and Gateway. If you must have either 9.2 sysNAND + up-2-date EmuNAND or up-2-date SysNAND + 9.2 EmuNAND then you better not use a9lh at all (as a Gateway user).
So until someone find a way to use 3dsx with 10.x firmware or create a payload to cold boot Launcher.dat, Gateway users cannot take the whole benefit of a9lh (and by whole I mean you can also ditch emuNAND).
umm... it's not counter productive. There is no ARM11 kernel exploit on >9.2 and GW NEEDS that for its cool features, and GW mode (at least on emunand) can't do twl or AGB.
 
Last edited by urherenow,
Status
Not open for further replies.

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    You're as loved as much as Juan now enjoy it
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I'm sorry for the insult
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    the difference is i like wario and samus and he likes muscle mommies and feet
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    wait, i forgot wizards too
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I have a buddy that has a moonshine still and he makes his own shine. He brought me a jar of some peach shine/brandy, shit is damn good. Gonna have to see if can get more.
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    careful that shit don't make you go blind
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Nuh that's only if you drink what first comes out when distilling, you must throw out the first part of it when it starts running. (Its called the "head(s)" of the run) Or use it for fuel or a general purpose cleaner
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    If alcohol would've made @BigOnYa blind by now it would have
    +2
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    So True.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I should make a poll for bigonya to change his username to DrunkOnYa
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    That's my alt
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I don't wanna go to the store someone go for me
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Call my wifey, tell her pick up stuff on her way over.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Pick up my door dash meat me in the allyway
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Wifey is busy, so ill send my buddy @AncientBoi , in his gimp outfit. "who ordered the 6" sausage?""
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Like subway it's false advertising
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Ok "who ordered the Vienna sausage?"
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Uremum
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    My buddy convince me to download and play poker game with him yesterday, called Four Kings Casino, its pretty fun actually, you create a avatar and walk around in a virtual casino, and play any table, or slots with others online.There's even a dance club and bowling alley.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    They should bring advertisements like this back LOL.
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    or that german ninja turtle commercial
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Forgot to buy BBQ sauce at the store so made my own ffs
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Blues Hog BBQ sauces are pretty good.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    My insurance has a thing where if I do a virtual visit they'll just send me a $100 gift card to Walmart I'm about to sell a company my medical history for $100 lol
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: My insurance has a thing where if I do a virtual visit they'll just send me a $100 gift card to...